Optician Program

Table of Contents


Click for Answers to Frequently Asked Questions


Fee and Application Information

All initial and renewal registrations may be submitted online after registering with BreEZe.

If you are experiencing technical difficulties with BreEZe, please contact the BreEZe Help Desk at (916) 557-1208 or BreEZe@dca.ca.gov with questions related to:

  • Registration
  • Password Resets
  • Account Unlocks
  • Linking licenses to your accounts
  • BreEZe Error Messages

Those who are looking to reinstate their registration should contact the Board.

Applications no longer require a notary or a photo. You may complete your online application without these items.

The following fees apply for all license types:

  • $150 application fee*
  • $200 registration fee**
  • $200 renewal fee
  • $50 delinquency fee

Please note: these fees are non-refundable.

If you wish to pay your fee(s) with a check*, please complete the online application and mail the Application Summary with the check(s) to:

California State Board of Optometry
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105
Sacramento, CA 95834

Payments submitted by check may add 4-6 weeks to application process. For faster processing time, please submit payments online.

*The application and registration fees must be submitted as separate payments. Payments that combine the fees will be returned to you and delay processing.
**Registration fees will not be accepted until the application has been approved.

Back to top


Registration Types

Registered Dispensing Optician

This registration is required for small businesses, corporations, and firms engaged in the business of filling prescriptions written by physicians and surgeons. The Registered Dispensing Optician certificate authorizes the applicant and its employees to engage in the business of providing the fitting and adjusting of spectacle and contact lenses. Employees must obtain Spectacle Lens Dispenser and Contact Lens Dispenser registrations.

Prior to filling out the application, please review California Business & Professions Code sections 2550-2559 as they pertain to an RDO.

Registered Spectacle Lens Dispenser

This registration is required for those who perform the fit and adjustment of spectacle lenses. This application is for those who have earned a passing score on the American Board of Opticianry (ABO) exam, and wish to practice in California.***

Prior to filling out the application, please review California Business and Professions Code sections 2559.1-2559.6 as they pertain to a SLD.

Registered Contact Lens Dispenser

This registration is required for those who perform the fit and adjustment of contact lenses within a Registered Dispensing Business. This Application is for those who have earned a passing score on the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE) exam, and wish to practice in California.***

Prior to filling out the application, please review California Business and Professions Code sections 2560-2564.6 as they pertain to a CLD.

***Subject to fine, it is illegal to call oneself an “Optician” without registration with the California State Board of Optometry (CSBO). Please review California Code of Regulations section 1399.278.

Registered Nonresident Contact Lens Seller

This certificate authorizes a business located outside of California to ship, mail, or deliver in any manner, replacement contact lenses at retail, pursuant to a valid prescription, to a patient at a California address.

Prior to filling out the application, please review California Business and Professions Code sections 2546-2546.10 as they pertain to a NCLS.

Back to top


Application Processing Times

Updated as of 4/1/2019

Application Type Processing Time
Registered Dispensing Optician 8 – 10 weeks
Spectacle Lens Dispenser 8 – 10 weeks
Contact Lens Dispenser 8 – 10 weeks
Nonresident Contact Lens Seller 1 – 2 weeks

Incomplete applications will generate deficiency letters requiring applicants to submit additional documentation. Applicants should respond promptly to avoid delay in processing time. (Please check your junk folder as the deficiency letters are typically emailed.)

Back to top


License Renewals

All renewals are processed online through Breeze. The Board no longer offers paper renewals. Registrants must create a BreEZe account, and add their registration to begin renewing online.

Registered Dispensing Optician and Non-resident Contact Lens sellers will need an entity number to add a registration to their Breeze account. Registrants will have to contact the Board for this number.

Spectacle Lens Dispensers and Contact Lens Dispenser do not need an entity number to add their registration to their account.

When renewing online, the expiration date should be updated immediately. If you encounter an issue, please contact the Board.

Those who are looking to reinstate a registration should contact the Board’s Registered Dispensing Optician Program at (916) 575-7186 or email RDOProgram@dca.ca.gov.

Back to top


For Consumers and Patients

Prescription Notice
The United States Federal Trade Commission enforces the Eyeglass Rule and Contact Lens Rule, which give you the right to get a prescription from your eye doctor – whether you ask for it or not – at no extra charge. Additionally California Business and Professions Code sections 2540 - 2545 detail the information required for a valid prescription.

Registration Search
Subject to fine, it is illegal to call oneself an “Optician” without registration with the California State Board of Optometry (CSBO). Please see California Code of Regulations section 1399.278.

Back to top