

## **CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY**

2450 DEL PASO ROAD, SUITE 105, SACRAMENTO, CA 95834 P (916) 575-7170 F (916) 575-7292 www.optometry.ca.gov



## **BOARD MEETING ACTION MINUTES**

May 22, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM (or until conclusion of business)

Institute for Business and Technology 2400 Walsh Ave. Santa Clara, CA 95051

California State Board of Optometry 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 Sacramento, CA 95834 Kaiser Permanente
Department of Optometry
5601 De Soto Avenue, Rm
1761
Woodland Hills, CA 91367

Charter College – Oxnard Campus 2000 Outlet Center Drive #150 Oxnard, CA 93036

Nugget Market - 2nd Floor 4500 Post St El Dorado Hills, CA 95762 California Eye Professionals 41637 Margarita Rd., Suite 100 Temecula, CA. 92591

> Moraga Library 1500 St. Mary's Road Moraga, CA 94556

Members Present	Staff Present
Cyd Brandvein, Public Member, President	Jessica Sieferman, Executive Officer
David Turetsky, O.D., Vice President	Robert Stephanopoulos, Assistant Executive Officer
Rachel Michelin, Public Member, Secretary	Mina Hamilton, Legal Counsel
Madhu Chawla, O.D.	Todd Kerrin, Policy Analyst
Martha Garcia, CLD, SLD	
Glenn Kawaguchi, O.D.	
Debra McIntyre, O.D.	
Mark Morodomi, JD, Public Member	
Maria Salazar Sperber, JD, Public Member	
Lillian Wang, O.D.	
	Guest List
	On File

## **FULL BOARD OPEN SESSION**

1. Call to Order/Roll Call and Establishment of a Quorum

- Dr. Turetsky, Board Vice President, called the meeting to order. Ms. Michelin, Board Secretary, called roll and a quorum was established.
- 2. Public Comment for Items Not on the Agenda Webcast 0:00:55

  Note: The Board may not discuss or take action on any matter raised during this public comment section, except to decide whether to place the matter on the agenda of a future meeting [Government Code Sections 11125, 11125.7(a)]
- 3. Discussion and Possible Action on SB 1386 (McGuire) Optometry

## Mr. Morodomi moved that the Board support AB 1386 as amended. Dr. Turetsky seconded. The Board voted 8-2 in favor and the motion passed.

	_				_
Member	Aye	No	Abstain	Absent	Recusal
Ms. Brandvein	X				
Dr. Chawla		X			
Ms. Garcia	X				
Dr. Kawaguchi	X				
Dr. McIntyre	X				
Ms. Michelin	X				
Mr. Morodomi	X				
Ms. Sperber	X				
Dr. Turetsky	X				
Dr. Wang		X			

4. Adjournment