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TITLE 16. California State Board of Optometry  

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

INITIAL STATEMENT OF REASONS 
 
Hearing Date: No hearing has been scheduled for this proposed action.  
 
Subject Matter of Proposed Regulations:  Fees 
 
Section(s) Affected: California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 16, CCR Sections 
1399.260, 1399.261, 1399.263, 1524.  
 
Background and Statement of the Problem: 
 
The California State Board of Optometry (Board) currently licenses and regulates 
approximately 9,200 optometrists and 4,200 dispensing opticians. Business and 
Professions Code (BPC) section 3010.1 provides protection of the public is the highest 
priority for the Board in exercising its licensing, regulatory and disciplinary functions. BPC 
sections 3021 and 3025 authorize the Board to adopt regulations as may be necessary 
to enable the Board to effectuate the practice of optometry and opticianry.  
 
BPC 3145 establishes the Optometry Fund (Fund) and requires all fees deposited in the 
Fund and made available to the Board upon appropriation by the Legislature. BPC 
section 2567 requires all fees collected from the opticianry program to be deposited in 
the Fund and available to the Board upon appropriation.  
 
BPC sections 2565, 2566, 2566.1 authorize the Board to set fees by regulation and sets 
forth the minimum and maximum fee ranges for application, initial registration, renewal, 
and delinquency for registered dispensing ophthalmic businesses, registered contact 
lens dispensers, and registered spectacle lens dispensers (collectively, opticianry). BPC 
section 3152 authorizes the Board to set fees by regulation and sets forth the minimum 
and maximum fee ranges for renewal for optometrists, and other miscellaneous fees 
such as application for continuing education course approval, and certain certifications.  
 
The Board is seeking to increase the fees charged for application, initial registration, and 
renewal, and set the delinquency fee for opticianry applicants and seeking to increase 
the fees charged for renewal for optometry applicants, and miscellaneous fees 
associated with certifications and continuing education course approval. The fee 
increases are necessary to help alleviate the structural imbalance the Board currently 
faces and thus ensure the Board can meet its consumer protection goals.  
 
Optometrist fees have been raised twice in the past 30 years with the last increase 
occurring 14 years ago in 2009. Optician fees were last raised in 2017, six years ago.  
 
The other fees in this proposal, the continuing education course approval fee and the 
certification fees, have not been adjusted since their implementation more than a decade 
ago. 
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The Board is a special fund entity, funded entirely by license fees and disciplinary action 
assessments, and has historically maintained a health fund balance reserve. However, 
operational costs, including licensing and enforcement-related costs, have increased in 
recent years, and actual revenues have simultaneously been lower than projected, which 
has caused the Board’s fund to become structurally imbalanced with projected revenues 
less than expenditures.  
 
The structural imbalance is primarily due to an increase in costs related to the operations 
of the Board and an increase in licensing and enforcement-related costs including, 
Attorney General and Office of Administrative Law costs related to disciplinary actions. 
Additionally, over projecting annual revenues in the prior and current fiscal years has 
contributed to the shortfall.  
 
The Board is currently projected to become insolvent in fiscal year (FY) 2024-25, if no 
action is taken and the Board fully expends its appropriation. The Board has been 
carrying a high vacancy rate of approximately 33% to manage expenditures and mitigate 
the structural imbalance. Even with this action, the Board’s expenditures continue to 
outpace revenues by more than $500,000 in FY 2022-23. Unless additional revenue is 
raised, the Fund will continue to spend more than it brings in and will become insolvent. 
Additionally, future unknown events, such as a large enforcement case, could further 
deplete the Fund, adding additional pressure to the Board’s ability to meet its mandate.  
 
This proposal is necessary to help ensure the Board has additional resources to maintain 
the highest priority of consumer safety and protection and to help to recover costs for 
administration and enforcement of the practice of optometry and opticianry in California. 
The structural imbalance was identified at the August 26, 2022 meeting and discussed at 
every meeting since then (December 9, 2022 and March 17, 2023), with the Board 
beginning the process to increase fees at its May 12, 2023 meeting.  
 
Anticipated benefits from this regulatory action: 

 
The proposed amendments to the Board’s fee schedule will help to reduce the Board’s 
structural budget imbalance, recover costs, and allow the Board additional time before 
insolvency, which allows the Board enough time to seek authority to increase statutory 
fee levels to eliminate the structural imbalance.  
 
The Board has historically been able to operate within its existing budget. However, due 
primarily to recent licensing and enforcement-related workload and costs, the Board 
Members began considering options to stabilize the Board budget at the August 26, 
2022 meeting and voted unanimously to approve the proposed regulations at its May 
12, 2023, board meeting.  
 
The proposed fee increases will help to reduce the structural imbalance and help the 
Board to recover its administrative costs to ensure the Board has funds to carry out its 
consumer protection mandate.  
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Immediate action to increase the regulatory fees collected by the Board is required. The 
fee increases will bolster the Board’s revenues and funding available to continue the 
Board’s daily functions, enforcement, and licensing operations without interruption.  
 
If this regulatory proposal is not adopted, the Board may need to restrict its core 
operations, including slowing its ability to process applications, restricting investigations, 
and limiting the Board’s ability to adjudicate violations of the laws of optometry and 
opticianry in an expedient manner. These restrictions to the operations functions of the 
Board could result in licensing backlogs and compromise the Board’s ability to achieve 
its mission and statutory mandate of consumer protection.  

 
Specific purpose of, and rationale for, each adoption, amendment, or repeal: 
 
The Board has not raised fees in 14 years for optometrists and 6 years for opticians. The 
Board’s fund has a structural imbalance, which will lead to insolvency in FY 2024-25.  
 
The proposed regulations would increase all of the Board’s license and application fees 
to the statutory maximums, which will help to alleviate the Board’s structural imbalance 
and help recover costs for services provided to applicants. The Board has completed a 
workload cost analysis to support this proposal (see Underlying Data). 
 
Specifically, the Board is proposing the following changes to increase fees to their 
statutory limits: 
 
 
Section 1399.260 – Registered Dispensing Ophthalmic Business Fees 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends section 1399.260 to change the title of the regulation 
from “Registered Dispensing Optician Fees” to “Registered Dispensing Ophthalmic 
Business Fees.”   
 
Rationale: Updating the regulation with this term will make it consistent with the language 
in the controlling statute. See: BPC 2565 that says the “fees prescribed in connection 
with the registration of dispensing ophthalmic businesses . . ..” 
 
Subdivision (a) 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends section 1399.260 (a) to replace “registration” with 
“application” and replace “$75.00” with “$200.”   
 

Rationale: Updating the regulation with this term will make it consistent with the language 
in the controlling statute. Also, as referenced above the Board has completed a workload 
cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which is 
necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance. See: BPC 2565 (a) 
that says “The application fee for registration shall be a minimum of one hundred fifty 
dollars ($150) and shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200).” 
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Subdivision (b) 
 
Purpose: The proposal replaces and creates a new subdivision (b) to set the initial 
registration fee at $300, which is the current statutory maximum.  
 

Rationale: As referenced above the Board has completed a workload cost analysis to 
support increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which is necessary to alleviate 
the Board’s structural economic imbalance. See: BPC 2565 (b) says “The initial 
registration fee shall be a minimum of two hundred dollars ($200) and shall not exceed 
three hundred dollars ($300).”  
 
Subdivision (c) 
 
Purpose: The proposal adds the word “biennial” and replaces “$75.00” with “$300.” 
 

Rationale: Updating the regulation with this term will make it consistent with the language 
in the authorizing statute. See: BPC 2553.7 (a) which states: “Registrations shall expire 
at midnight on the last day of the month in which the license was issued during the 
second year of a two-year term if not renewed.”  
 

Also, as referenced above the Board has completed a workload cost analysis to support 
increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which is necessary to alleviate the 
Board’s structural economic imbalance. See also: BPC 2565 (c) that says “The renewal 
fee shall be a minimum of two hundred dollars ($200) and shall not exceed three 
hundred dollars ($300).” The current regulation has not been updated since the statute 
was amended in 2016 through legislation (SB 1039 (Chapter 799, Statutes of 2016)), 
which increased the statutory minimum from $75 to $200.  
 
 
Subdivision (d) 
 
Purpose: The proposal adds a new subdivision (d) and establishes the delinquency fee 
at $50. 
 

Rationale: AB 1534 (Committee on Business and Professions) Chapter 630, Statutes of 
2021 amended BPC 2565 to say “The delinquency fee shall be a minimum of fifty dollars 
($50) and shall not exceed seventy-five dollars ($75).” Updating the regulation will make 
it consistent with the language in the controlling statute.  
 
Section 1399.261 – Contact Lens Dispenser Fees 
 
Subdivision (a) 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends subdivision (a) to replace “registration” with “application” 
and replace “$75.00” with “$200.”   
 

Rationale: The term “registration” is replaced with the term “application” in the regulation 
so it is consistent with the statute. See: BPC 2566 (a) says “The application fee for a 
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registered contact lens dispenser shall be a minimum of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) 
and shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200).” Also, as referenced above the Board 
has completed a workload cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory 
maximums, which is necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance.  
  
Subdivision (b) 
 
Purpose: The proposal replaces and creates a new subdivision (b) to set the initial 
registration fee at $300.  
 

Rationale: AB 1534 (Committee on Business and Professions) Chapter 630, Statutes of 
2021 amended BPC 2566 (b) to say “The initial registration fee shall be a minimum of 
two hundred dollars ($200) and shall not exceed three hundred dollars ($300).”Updating 
the regulation will make it consistent with the language in the controlling statute.   
 
Subdivision (c) 
 
Purpose: The proposal adds the word “biennial” and replaces “$75.00” with “$300.” 
 

Rationale: Updating the regulation with this term will make it consistent with the language 
in the authorizing statute. See: BPC 2566 (c) The biennial fee for the renewal of 
certificates shall be a minimum of two hundred dollars ($200) and shall not exceed three 
hundred dollars ($300). Although the regulation says $75, it had not been updated since 
the statute was amended in 2016 through SB 1039 (Chapter 799, Statutes of 2016).  
 
Also, as referenced above the Board has completed a workload cost analysis to support 
increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which is necessary to alleviate the 
Board’s structural economic imbalance. 
 
Subdivision (d) 
 
Purpose: The proposal adds a new subdivision (d) and establishes the delinquency fee 
at $50. 
 

Rationale: AB 1534 (Committee on Business and Professions) Chapter 630, Statutes of 
2021 amended BPC 2566 (d) to say “The delinquency fee shall be a minimum of fifty 
dollars ($50) and shall not exceed seventy-five dollars ($75).” Updating the regulation will 
make it consistent with the language in the controlling statute. 
 

 
Section 1399.263 – Spectacle Lens Dispenser Fees 
 
Subdivision (a) 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends subdivision (a) to replace “registration” with “application” 
and replace “$75.00” with “$200.”   
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Rationale: The term “registration” is replaced with the term “application” in the regulation 
so it is consistent with the statute. See: BPC 2566.1 (a) says “The application fee for 
registration shall be a minimum of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) and shall not exceed 
two hundred dollars ($200).” Also, as referenced above the Board has completed a 
workload cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which 
is necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance. 
  
Subdivision (b) 
 
Purpose: The proposal replaces and creates a new subdivision (b) to set the initial 
registration fee at $300.  
 

Rationale: AB 1534 (Committee on Business and Professions) Chapter 630, Statutes of 
2021 amended BPC 2566.1 (b) to say “The initial registration fee shall be a minimum of 
two hundred dollars ($200) and shall not exceed three hundred dollars ($300).” Updating 
the regulation will make it consistent with the language in the controlling statute. As 
referenced above the Board has completed a workload cost analysis to support 
increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which is necessary to alleviate the 
Board’s structural economic imbalance. 
 
Subdivision (c) 
 
Purpose: The proposal adds the word “biennial” and replaces “$75.00” with “$300.” 
 

Rationale: Updating the regulation with this term will make it consistent with the language 
in the authorizing statute. See: BPC 2566.2 which states: “Every registration issued to a 
dispensing ophthalmic business, contact lens dispenser, and spectacle lens dispenser 
shall expire 24 months after the initial date of issuance or renewal. To renew an 
unexpired registration, the registrant shall, before the time at which the license would 
otherwise expire, apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the board, and pay the 
renewal fee prescribed by this chapter.”  
 
See also: BPC 2566.1 (c) says “The renewal fee shall be a minimum of two hundred 
dollars ($200) and shall not exceed three hundred dollars ($300).” Although the 
regulation says $75, it had not been updated since the statute was amended in 2016 
through SB 1039 (Chapter 799, Statutes of 2016). As referenced above the Board has 
completed a workload cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory 
maximums, which is necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance. 
 
Subdivision (d) 
 
Purpose: The proposal adds a new subdivision (d) and establishes the delinquency fee 
at $50. 
 

Rationale: AB 1534 (Committee on Business and Professions) Chapter 630, Statutes of 
2021 amended BPC 2566.1 to say “The delinquency fee shall be a minimum of fifty 
dollars ($50) and shall not exceed seventy-five dollars ($75).” Updating the regulation will 
make it consistent with the language in the controlling statute. 



CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY Initial Statement of Reasons Page 7 of 11 

    
 

16 CCR Sections 1399.260, 1399.261, 
1399.263, 1524 
 

FEES Last Revision 
7/14/2023  

 

 
Section 1524 (b) – Biennial renewal of a certificate of registration as an optometrist 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends section 1524(b) to increase the biennial renewal fee 
from $425 to statutory maximum of $500.  
 
Rationale: BPC 3152 (b) states “The fee for renewal of an optometric license shall not 
exceed five hundred dollars ($500).  As referenced above the Board has completed a 
workload cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which 
is necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance.  
 
See also for reference: BPC 3149 which states “An optometric license issued under this 
chapter expires at midnight on the last day of the month in which the license was issued 
during the second year of a two-year term if not renewed. To renew an unexpired 
license, the optometrist shall apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the board and 
pay the renewal fee prescribed by this chapter.” 
 
Section 1524 (l) – Application fee for approval of a continuing education course 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends section 1524(l) to increase the application fee from $50 
to $100.  
 
Rationale: BPC 3152 (j) states “The fee for approval of a continuing education course 
shall not exceed one hundred dollars ($100). As referenced above the Board has 
completed a workload cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory 
maximums, which is necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance. 
 
 
Section 1524 (m) – Application fee for a certificate to treat primary open angle 
glaucoma 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends section 1524(m) to increase the application fee from $35 
to $50.  
 
Rationale: BPC 3152 (i) states “The application fee for a certificate to treat glaucoma 
shall not exceed fifty dollars ($50). As referenced above the Board has completed a 
workload cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory maximums, which 
is necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance. 
 
Section 1524 (n) – Application fee for a certificate to perform lacrimal irrigation and 
dilation 
 
Purpose: This proposal amends section 1524(n) to increase the application fee from $25 
to $50.  
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Rationale: BPC 3152 (h) states “The application fee for a certificate to perform lacrimal 
irrigation and dilation shall not exceed fifty dollars ($50). As referenced above the Board 
has completed a workload cost analysis to support increasing the fees to the statutory 
maximums, which is necessary to alleviate the Board’s structural economic imbalance. 
 
 
Table 1: Fee Schedule CCR section 1524 

CCR Section 1524 
Optometrist 

Current 
Fee  

Proposed 
Fee 

Incremental 
Increase 

Biennial Renewal $425 $500 $75 

Continuing Education Course App $50 $100 $50 

Glaucoma Certification $35 $50 $15 

Lacrimal Certification $25 $50 $25 

 
 
Table 2: Fee Schedule CCR section 1399.260 

CCR Section 1399.260 
Registered Dispensing Ophthalmic 

Current 
Fee 

Proposed 
Fee 

Incremental 
Increase 

RDO Business – Application $150 $200 $50 

RDO Business – Registration  $200 $300 $100 

RDO Business – Biennial Renewal $200 $300 $100 

RDO Business – Delinquency $50 $50 $0 
*RDO – Registered Dispensing Ophthalmic 
 

 
Table 3: Fee Schedule CCR section 1399.261 

CCR Section 1399.261 
Contact Lens Dispenser 

Current 
Fee 

Proposed 
Fee 

Incremental 
Increase 

CLD Application $150 $200 $50 

CLD Registration  $200 $300 $100 

CLD Biennial Renewal $200 $300 $100 

CLD Delinquency $50 $50 $0 
*CLD – Contact Lens Dispenser 
 

 
Table 4: Fee Schedule CCR section 1399.263 

CCR Section 1399.263 
Spectacle Lens Dispenser 

Current 
Fee 

Proposed  
Fee 

Incremental 
Increase 

Application $150 $200 $50 

Registration  $200 $300 $100 

Biennial Renewal $200 $300 $100 

Delinquency $50 $50 $0 
*Spectacle Lens Dispenser 
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Underlying Data 
 

• August 26, 2022 Board meeting minutes 

• August 26, 2022 Legal Affairs and Budget Office Memo 

• December 9, 2022 Board meeting minutes 

• March 17, 2023 Board meeting minutes 

• March 17, 2023 Board meeting Agenda Item 3Bii 

• May 12, 2023 Board meeting minutes (in DRAFT form) 

• May 12, 2023 Board meeting agenda item 8 
 
Business Impact:  
 
This regulation may have an economic impact on businesses, specifically, the Board’s 
licensees and applicants. The regulation would increase fees for biennial renewal for 
optometrists, applications for continuing education course approval, and certifications for 
glaucoma and lacrimal irrigation. The proposal would also increase application, 
registration and renewal fees for registered dispensing ophthalmic businesses, contact 
lens dispensers, and spectacle lens dispensers. 
  
To the extent these applicants apply for licensure or licensees opt to renew their licenses  
and registrations, the proposed regulations will impact them as described below: 
 
Table 5: Cost Impact – Applicant and Licensee Population 
 

Application/Registration 
Type 

Estimated 
Population 

Increase 
Amount 

Projected Costs 
Increase 

Optometrist – Biennial Renewal 3,564 $75 $267,300 

Continuing Education Course App 144 $50 $7,200 

Optometrist – Glaucoma certification 296 $15 $4,440 

Optometrist – Lacrimal Certification 273 $25 $6,825 

RDO* Business – Application 59 $50 $2,950 

RDO* Business – Registration  53 $100 $5,300 

RDO* Business – Biennial Renewal 517 $100 $51,700 

CLD** – Application 172 $50 $8,600 

CLD** – Registration  162 $100 $16,200 

CLD** – Biennial Renewal 523 $100 $52,300 

SLD*** – Application 387 $50 $19,350 

SLD*** – Registration  359 $100 $35,900 

SLD*** – Biennial Renewal 1,187 $100 $118,700 

Total:  $596,765 
*RDO – Registered Dispensing Ophthalmic 
**CLD – Contact Lens Dispenser 
***Spectacle Lens Dispenser 
 

 
Although the regulation has an economic impact, the impact is not anticipated to be a 
significant statewide adverse economic impact directly affecting businesses, including 
the ability to compete with other businesses in California, because the fee increases are 
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considered to be very minor compared to the income of most applicants, licensees and 
registrants. 
 
 
Economic Impact Assessment:  
 
This regulatory proposal is needed to increase the fees it collects per BPC sections 
2565, 2566, 2566.1 and 3152. 
 

• It will not result in the creation of new jobs or elimination of jobs within the 
State of California because the proposed fees are anticipated to have 
minimal impact on businesses because the incremental fee increase is 
negligible compared to the average salary of licensees.  

• It will not result in the creation of new businesses or elimination of 
businesses within the state of California because the proposed fees are 
anticipated to have minimal impact on businesses because the incremental 
fee increase is negligible compared to the average salary of licensees.  

• It will not affect the expansion of businesses currently doing business within 
the State of California because the proposed fees are anticipated to have 
minimal impact on businesses because the incremental fee increase is 
negligible compared to the average salary of licensees.  

• It will benefit the health and welfare of California residents because the 
proposal will increase the Board’s revenue and funding available to continue 
uninterrupted the Board’s enforcement, investigative, licensing, 
examination, and public outreach operations. 

• This regulatory proposal does not affect worker safety or the environment 
because the proposed regulations are not relative to workers’ safety or the 
environment. This regulatory proposal focuses on an increase in fee 
schedules to help reduce the Board’s current structural imbalance and does 
not affect worker safety or the state’s environment.  

 
 
Specific Technologies or Equipment: 
 
This regulation does not mandate the use of specific technologies or equipment. 
 
 
Consideration of Alternatives:  
 
The Board has initially determined that no reasonable alternative to the regulatory 
proposal would be more effective in carrying out the purpose for which the regulation is 
proposed, would be as effective and less burdensome to affected private persons than 
the adopted regulation, or would be more cost effective to affected private persons and 
equally effective in implementing the statutory policy or other provision of law. 
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No alternatives were considered because the Board’s Fund will become 
insolvent in the near future without a fee increase. If the Board reduces its 
annual expenditures to mitigate the structural fund imbalance, the Board would 
be forced to cut mission critical functions, which will jeopardize the public health, 
safety, and welfare of California consumers. 
 
Description of reasonable alternatives to the regulation that would lessen 
any adverse impact on small business: 
 
No such alternatives have been proposed, however, the Board welcomes 
comments from the public. 
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