BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

ORDER OF ADOPTION

Amend Section 1536 of Division 15 Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

- § 1536. Continuing Optometric Education; Purpose and Requirements.
- (a) Except as otherwise provided in Section 1536(b), each licensee shall complete 40 hours of formal continuing optometric education course work within the two years immediately preceding the license expiration date. Such course work shall be subject to Board approval. Up to eight hours of course work may be in the area of patient care management or ethics in the practice of optometry. Business management courses are not accepted by the Board.
- (b) An optometrist certified to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 3041.3 shall complete a total of 50 hours of continuing optometric education every two years in order to renew his or her license. Thirty-five of the required 50 hours of continuing optometric education shall be on the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease and consistent with Business and Professions Code section 3059, subdivision (e).
- (c) Up to 20 hours of required biennial course work may be accomplished by using any or all of the following alternative methods:
- (1) Documented and accredited self study through correspondence or an electronic medium.
- (2) Teaching of continuing optometric education courses if attendance at such course would also qualify for such credit, providing none are duplicate courses within the two-year period.
- (3) Writing articles that have been published in optometric journals, magazines or newspapers, pertaining to the practice of optometry (or in other scientific, learned, refereed journals on topics pertinent to optometry), providing no articles are duplicates. One hour of credit will be granted for each full page of printing or the equivalent thereof.
- (4) A full day's <u>in person</u> attendance at a California State Board of Optometry Board meeting as verified by the Board. Every two hours of open session equates to one hour of credit, up to a maximum of four credit hours. Up to two credit hours shall be granted for a full day.
- (5) Completion of a course to receive certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) from the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or other association approved by the Board. Up to four credit hours shall be granted for this course.
- (6) Any continuing education course approved for category 1 of the American Medical Association or category 1A of the American Osteopathic Association Continued Medical Education credits that contributes to the advancement of professional skill and knowledge in the practice of optometry.
- (7) Participation as a subject matter expert in the creation of the Board's California Laws and Regulation Examination. Subject matter experts will receive one hour of continuing education credit for each hour attending a Board sponsored workshop, not to exceed eight credits per renewal cycle.
- (d) A credit hour is defined as one classroom hour, usually a 50-minute period, but no less than that.
- (e) Continuing optometric education programs which are approved as meeting the required standards of the Board include the following:
- (1) Continuing optometric education courses officially sponsored or recognized by any accredited school or college of optometry.
- (2) Continuing optometric education courses provided by any national or state affiliate of the American Optometric Association, the American Academy of Optometry, or the Optometric Extension Program.

- (3) Continuing optometric education courses approved by the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry committee known as COPE (Council on Optometric Practitioner Education).
- (f) Other continuing optometric education courses approved by the Board as meeting the criteria set forth in paragraph (g) below, after submission of the Continuing Education Course Approval Application (Form CE-01, Rev. 5/16), hereby incorporated by reference, a-course, schedule, topical outline of subject matter, and curriculum vitae of all instructors or lecturers involved, to the Board not less than 45 days prior to the date of the program. The Board may, upon application of any licensee and for good cause shown, waive the requirement for submission of advance information and request for prior approval. Nothing herein shall permit the Board to approve a continuing optometric education course which has not complied with the criteria set forth in paragraph (g) below.
- (g) The criteria for judging and approving continuing education courses by the Board for continuing optometric education credit will be determined on the following basis:
- (1) Whether the program is likely to contribute to the advancement of professional skills and knowledge in the practice of optometry.
- (2) Whether the instructors, lecturers, and others participating in the presentation are recognized by the Board as being qualified in their field.
- (3) Whether the proposed course is open to all optometrists licensed in this State.
- (4) Whether the provider of any mandatory continuing optometric education course agrees to maintain and furnish to the Board and/or attending licensee such records of course content and attendance as the Board requires, for a period of at least three years from the date of course presentation.
- (h) Proof of continuing optometric education course attendance shall be provided in a form and manner specified in writing by the Board and distributed to all licensed optometrists in this State. Certification of continuing optometric education course attendance shall be submitted by the licensee to the Board upon request, and shall contain the following minimal information:
- (1) Name of the sponsoring organization.
- (2) Name, signature, practice address, and license number of the attending licensee.
- (3) Subject or title of the course.
- (4) Number of continuing optometric education hours provided for attending the course.
- (5) Date the course was provided.
- (6) Location where the course was provided.
- (7) Name(s) and signature(s) of the course instructor(s).
- (8) Such other evidence of course content or attendance as the Board may deem necessary. Use of a certificate of course completion provided by the Board is recommended for any continuing optometric education course approved by the Board pursuant to the above. Such forms will be furnished by the Board upon request.

The Board will also recognize and utilize the Association of Regulatory Boards in Optometry's online Optometric Education (OE) Tracker system as proof of continuing education course attendance.

- (i) The following licensees shall be exempt from the requirements of this section:
- (1) Any licensee serving in the regular armed forces of the United States during any part of the two years immediately preceding the license expiration date.
- (2) Those licensees as the Board, in its discretion, determines were unable to complete sufficient hours of continuing optometric education courses due to illness, incapacity, or other unavoidable circumstances. An extension may be granted if the Board, in its discretion, determines that good cause exists for the licensee's failure to complete the requisite hours of continuing optometric education.
- (3)(2) Any licensee who is renewing an active license for the first time, if he or she graduated from an accredited school or college of optometry less than one year from the date of initial licensure.

- (3) Those licensees as the Board, in its discretion, determines were unable to complete sufficient hours of continuing optometric education courses due to illness, incapacity, or other unavoidable circumstances. An extension may be granted if the Board, in its discretion, determines that good cause exists for the licensee's failure to complete the requisite hours of continuing optometric education.
- (j) The Board, in its discretion, may exempt from the continuing optometric education requirements of this section licensees who for health reasons or other good cause cannot meet these requirements. Licensees requesting an exemption shall complete a Continuing Education Exemption Request (Form CE-E, Rev 2/2016) and submit it, along with all required supporting information, to the Board for its consideration at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of the license.
- (1) The Board may deny a request for exemption but at its discretion may grant the licensee an extension of up to one year to obtain the necessary continuing optometric education.
 (2) A licensee whose requests for an exemption is denied and an extension is not granted

shall otherwise comply with the provision of this section.

(i) (k) The Board may conduct an audit of any licensee's attendance of a continuing optometric education course as a means of verifying compliance with this section.
(I) Licensees that are glaucoma certified pursuant to BPC section 1571 shall be required to complete 10 hours of glaucoma specific optometric continuing education every license renewal period. These 10 hours shall be part of the required 35 hours on the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 3059, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 3059, Business and Professions Code.

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

ORDER OF ADOPTION

Amend Section 1571 of Division 15 Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

§ 1571, REQUIREMENTS FOR GLAUCOMA CERTIFICATION.

- (a) Only optometrists meeting the requirements of this Article may apply for certification for the treatment of glaucoma as described in subdivision (j) of Section 3041, in patients over 18 years of age. The optometrist shall:
- (1) Hold an active license as an optometrist in California in good standing with the State Board of Optometry (Board);
- (2) Be certified to use Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents (TPA) pursuant to Section 3041.3;
- (3) Complete a didactic course of no less than 24 hours in the diagnosis, pharmacological and other treatment and management of glaucoma. The following topics may be covered in the course:
- (A) Anatomy and physiology of glaucoma
- (B) Classification of glaucoma
- (C) Pharmacology in glaucoma therapy
- (D) Diagnosis of glaucoma including risk factors analysis
- (E) Medical and surgical treatment
- (F) Participant performance assessment; and
- (4) Complete a Case Management Requirement where a minimum of 25 individual patients are each prospectively treated for a minimum of 12 consecutive months. For purposes of this section, "treat" means properly evaluating the patient, performing all necessary tests, diagnosing the patient, recognizing the type of glaucoma within a licensee's scope of practice, creating a treatment plan with proposed medications and target pressures, ongoing monitoring and reevaluation of the patient's condition, and making timely referrals to an ophthalmologist when appropriate. The following options may be chosen in any combination to fulfill this requirement:
- (A) Case Management Course: Completion of a 16-hour case management course developed cooperatively by the accredited California schools and colleges of optometry and approved by the Board, with at least 15 cases of moderate to advanced complexity. The course may be conducted live, over the Internet, or by use of telemedicine. One hour of the program will be used for a final competency examination. Although the Case Management Course does not involve treatment of patients, completion of the 16-hour Case Management Course is equivalent to prospectively treating 15 individual patients for 12 consecutive months. Therefore, completion of the 16-hour Case Management Course will count as a 15-patient credit towards the Case Management Requirement. The full course must be completed to receive the 15-patient credit. The course must include the following topics/conditions:
 - 1. Presentation of conditions/cases that licensees may treat:
- a. All primary open-angle glaucoma;
- b. Exfoliation and pigmentary glaucoma.
- 2. Presentation of conditions/cases that licensees may not treat, but must recognize and refer to the appropriate physician and/or surgeon such as:
- a. Pseudoglaucoma with vascular, malignant, or compressive etiologies;
- b. Secondary glaucoma;
- c. Traumatic glaucoma;

- d. Infective or inflammatory glaucoma;
- e. Appropriate evaluation and analysis for medical or surgical consultation;
- f. In an emergency, if possible, stabilization of acute attack of angle closure and immediate referral of the patient.
- (B) Grand Rounds Program: Completion of a 16-hour grand rounds program developed cooperatively by the accredited California schools and colleges of optometry and approved by the Board, wherein participants will evaluate and create a management plan for live patients. Completion of the 16-hour Grand Rounds Program is equivalent to prospectively treating 15 individual patients for 12 consecutive months. Therefore, the 16-hour Grand Rounds Program will count as a 15-patient credit towards the Case Management Requirement. The full program must be completed to receive the 15-patient credit. Patients must be evaluated in person. The program must include the following:
- Presentation of various patient types such as: glaucoma suspects; narrow angle, primary open angle glaucoma (early, moderate, late); and secondary open angle glaucoma such as pigment dispersion and pseudoexfoliation. Patient data, including but not limited to, visual acuities, intra-ocular pressures, visual fields, imaging, and pachymetry, will be available on-site and presented upon request;
- 2. Examination of patients, evaluation of data and test results, and commitment to a tentative diagnosis, treatment, and management plan;
- 3. Participation in group discussion of the cases with instructor feedback;
- 4. Attendance of follow-up meetings (within the 16-hour program requirement) where the same or different patients will be reviewed via serial data, including but not limited to visual fields and imaging photos.
- (C) Preceptorship Program: Completion of a preceptorship program where each patient must be initially evaluated by the licensee and co-managed with a preceptor. Each patient must be prospectively treated for a minimum of 12 consecutive months. A preceptor for purposes of this section is defined as:
- 1. A California licensed, Board certified ophthalmologist in good standing; or
- 2. A California licensed optometrist in good standing, who has been glaucoma certified for two or more years.

Preceptors shall confirm the diagnosis and treatment plan, and then approve the therapeutic goals and management plan for each patient. Consultation with the preceptor must occur at appropriate clinical intervals or when the therapeutic goals are not achieved. Clinical data will be exchanged at appropriate intervals determined by the preceptor and the licensee. Telemedicine and electronic exchange of information may be used as agreed upon by the preceptor and the licensee. Each patient that is seen by the optometrist in the program will count as a 1-patient credit towards the Case Management Requirement.

- (b) Licensees that are glaucoma-certified pursuant to this Section shall be required to complete 10 hours of glaucoma specific optometric continuing education every license renewal period. These 10 hours shall be part of the required 35 hours on the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease.
- (e<u>b</u>) Licensees who completed their education from an accredited school or college of optometry on or after May 1, 2008, are exempt from the didactic course and case management requirements of this Section, provided they submit proof of graduation from that institution to the Board.
- (d<u>c</u>) Licensees who graduated from an accredited school or college of optometry prior to May 1, 2000, and who have not completed a didactic course of no less than 24 hours will be required to take the 24-hour course indicated in subsection (a). Licensees who graduated

from an accredited school or college of optometry after May 1, 2000, are exempt from the didactic course requirement of this Section.

(ed) Licensees who graduated from an accredited school or college of optometry prior to May 1, 2008, and who have taken a didactic course of no less than 24 hours, but not completed the case management requirement under SB 929 [Stats. 2000, ch. 676, § 3], will be required to complete the Case Management Requirement indicated in subsection (a). (fe) Licensees who started the process for certification to treat glaucoma under SB 929 [Stats. 2000, ch. 676, § 3] but will not complete the requirements by December 31, 2009, may apply all patients who have been co-managed prospectively for at least 12 consecutive months towards the Case Management Requirement indicated in subsection (a).

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 3025, 3041, 3041.10 and 3059, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 3041 and 3041.3, Business and Professions Code.





CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION

\$50 Mandatory Fee

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR) § 1536, the Board will approve continuing education (CE) courses after receiving the applicable fee, the requested information below and it has been determined that the course meets criteria specified in CCR § 1536(g).

In addition to the information requested below, please attach a copy of the course schedule, a detailed course outline and presentation materials (e.g., PowerPoint presentation). Applications must be submitted 45 days prior to the course presentation date.

Please type or print clearly.

Course Title	Course Presentation Date		
Course Provider Contact Information			
Provider Name			
(First)	(Last) (Mic	idle)	
Provider Mailing Address			
Street City	State Zip	_	
Provider Email Address			
} .			
Will the proposed course be open to all California licensed optometrists?		☐ YES ☐ NO	
Do you agree to maintain and furnish to the Board and of course content and attendance as the Board require		YES DNO	
from the date of course presentation?	o, for a period of at loads timee years		
	1. F C		
Course Instructor Information Please provide the information below and attach the curriculum vitae for each instructor or lecturer involved in the course.			
If there are more instructors in the course, please provide the requested information on a separate sheet of paper.			
Instructor Name			
		•	
(Firet)	Last) (I	Middle)	
(First)	(1	viidaie)	
License Number	License Type		
		•	
Phone Number ()	Email Address		
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all the information submitted on this form and on any accompanying attachments submitted is true and correct.			
Signature of Course Provider	Date		
Signature of Course Florider	vale	Form CE-01, Rev. 5/16	

,



STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY2450 DEL PASO ROAD, SUITE 105, SACRAMENTO, CA 95834 P (916) 575-7170 F (916) 575-7292 <u>www.optometry.ca.gov</u>



Form CE-E, Rev. 2/2016

CONTINUING EDUCATION EXEMPTION REQUEST

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR) § 1536, the Board may grant continuing education (CE) exemptions due to illness, or other good cause such as incapacity, or other unavoidable circumstances. Requests must be submitted at least 30 days prior to your license expiration date. The Board may deny a request for exemption but, at its discretion, may grant the licensee an extension of up to one year to obtain the necessary continuing optometric education. A licensee whose request for an exemption or extension is denied shall otherwise comply with the provisions of this section.

Please type or print clearly.				
Licensee Information				
Name (First, Middle, Last):				
License Number:		License Expiration	on Date:	
Address of Record:				
Number, Street, Suite/Room	City	State	Zip	
Telephone Number:	Email Addr			
	<u> </u>			
Reason for Request				
☐ Illness or Incapacity (Please have a physician or appropriate health care practitioner complete Part A below) ☐ Other Unavoidable Circumstance (Please complete Part B on page 2)				
		t A:		
Illness or Incapacity - To be completed by a physician or appropriate health care practitioner				
Description of illness that interferes the licensee's ability to meet the continuing Approximate Date Illness Began:			Approximate Date Illness Began:	
education requirements (Attach additional sheets if necessary):				
			The Iliness is:	
		,		
			☐ Permanent☐ Temporary -	
			Approximate Date CE Can Resume:	
	•			
		•		
Health Care Practitioner's Name (Print)	License Nur	nber	Telephone Number	
·				
I declare under penalty of parium, under the laws of the	State of Californ	in that all information	when total in this position is two and a west	
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all information submitted in this section is true and correct.				
			•	
Health Care Practitioner's Signature		Da	te	
All items in this application are mandatory; none is voluntary. The California State Board of Optometry (Board) requests this information to determine your eligibility for CE extension or exemption pursuant to California Code of Regulations, Title 16, § 1536. The Board's Executive Officer is the custodian of records. Access to records by the individual whom they pertain may be obtained under the Information Practices Act by contacting the custodian of records at 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834 or (916)575-7170. The information collected may be transferred to other governmental and law enforcement agencies. Individuals have a right of access to records containing				
personal information pertaining to that individual that are maintained by the Board, unless the records are exempted from disclosure by				

	Part B:
Good cause or Unavoidable	Circumstance - To be completed by licensee
Description of circumstances or events that interferes Please explain fully and attach additional sheets if ne	the licensee's ability to meet the continuing education requirements. cessary:
·	
this form and on any accompanying attachments	of the State of California that all the information submitted on submitted is true and correct. By signing below, I also extension is not granted, I shall comply with the continuing
Signature of Licensee	Date

ADDITIONAL CONTINUING EDUCATION EXEMPTION INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

All licensees seeking a CE exemption shall submit a renewal application and applicable renewal fee.

The Board will notify you in writing of its decision to grant or deny your request for exemption. If the Board denies your exemption request but determines "good cause" exists to grant an extension to obtain the necessary continuing optometric education, you will be notified of the extension expiration date. Failure to provide proof of CE completion by the specified date will subject you to disciplinary action.