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April 29, 2020

Greetings, Optometry Board Licensees, Continuing Education Providers, and other
stakeholders within the profession:

Thank you for your patience as the California State Board of Optometry (Board)
determined the acceptability of live, interactive coursework mediated by an electronic
medium to satisfy continuing education requirements. In doing so, we consulted with
Board President Mark Morodomi, Esq., and Practice and Education Committee Chair
Dr. Madhu Chawla, O.D.

Section 1536 of Title 16 of the California Code of Requlations (CCR) regulates the
courses that the Board may accept as meeting the requirements for continuing
education coursework. The Board approved proposed changes to this regulation before
the COVID-19 pandemic but those changes have not yet been approved by the Office
of Administrative Law, a necessary step in order for the changes to become law. The
Board will again discuss this regulation during its May 15, 2020 Board Meeting by
teleconference and encourages licensees to participate in this meeting and help shape
the future of this policy.

Under current law, live, interactive, and participatory courses provided over an internet
platform do not fit within the plain meaning of “self-study” (i.e. the study of something by
oneself, as through books, records, etc., without direct supervision or attendance in a
class). Interactive courses offered live over internet platforms such as Zoom, WebEX,
BlueJeans, RingCentral or courses being offered by COPE (through the June 30, 2020
deadline) will count towards the 30 hours required of live continuing education course
credits.

Conversely, online courses that are recorded and made available for viewing later tend
to meet the plain meaning definition of “self-study.” These courses are not live,
interactive, or participatory. Thus, these courses will not qualify as live courses and
would instead qualify as “self-study.”

Again, the Board will continue to discuss and consider further changes to CCR section
1536, the regulation that defines the qualification of these online courses toward the
mandated 30 hours of live continuing education course credits. We encourage licensees
and other stakeholders to participate in the May 15, 2020 Board Meeting by
teleconference to determine the future qualification of these online courses. This public
meeting will be held via WebEx Events. To participate in the WebEx meeting, please log
on to this website the day of the meeting using this link: https://dca-ca.webex.com/dca-
cal/onstage/q.php?MTID=e87a12ddc5a3463d7090b5e5be43a3b94

Please feel free to contact the Board at optometry@dca.ca.gov for further information or
clarification if needed.
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Stay safe!

Phowghy

Shara Murphy, Executive Officer
California State Board of Optometry



