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Preparing for Future Practice
Study the laws that govern the scope of
optomertry.

Review practice questions and
materials.

Consult your notes and lesson materials.

Reach out to mentors, colleagues,
instructors, & professional associations
for assistance.

Contact the State Board.
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Create Your BrekEZe Account
www.breeze.ca.gov

FOR CONSUMERS FOR APPLICANTS AND LICENSEES
YO U r B re EZ e AC C O U n 1- : Check Licenses and file complaints. Applicant and licensing needs are available here.

You will need to register, or use your
existing user name and password

* Isnotyourlicense. - —
y % w Returning User

¢ A”OWS yOU TO CompleTe Fields marked with - are required
and submit applications UseriD: | |
Online. " Password: || ]
. Forgot .
« Allows access to license o Sign In|
b o M M User ID?
and certifications in one
place. New Users
BreEZe Registration
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BrekZe
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Use BrekZe to: B R E

Apply for your license
Update or renew your license

Pay with a credit card in a secure
environment

Apply for additional license or certification
types
Obtain real-fime licensure information

File a complaint against a licensee
Request and pay for a Letter of Verification
Make changes to address or name
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BreEZe Technical Difficulties
CSBO Staff Cannot:
« Create your account or registration
« Reset a password or unlock an account

« Link licenses to account
« Troubleshoot BreEZe error messages

Contact BreEZe Help Desk
«  916-557-1208 or
« BreE/e@dca.ca.gov

California State Board of
Optometry


mailto:BreEZe@dca.ca.gov

License Requirements

Set out in Business and Professions Code
sections 3056 and 3057.

All Applicants must:
« Pass the CLRE.

« Graduate from an accredited school
of optometry.

« Pass all parts of the NBEO & TMOD.
« Live Scan fingerprinting.

Out of State Applicants must:

« Submit Hard Card fingerprinting
(replaces Live Scan)

« Iflicensed in another state, submit
Letters of Verification.




License Requirements

Fees are in Business and Professions
Code section 3152.

Fees:

« Part1-%$279 ($275 to CSBO and $4 to
NPDB)

« Part2-$125 (TPA-$25, Lacrimal-$50,
Glaucoma-$50)

« Live Scan (in-state) cost varies
depending on location

« Hard card (out-of-state) fees are $49
— payable either at fime of request or
via the Part 2 application




Start Your Application

About BreEZe FAQ's Help Tutorials

« Use BreEZe account to
start a New Exam %ov BREIZAE
Request Application.

Skip navigation

Logged in as test, arsha Update Profile | Logoff | Contact Us

* Please input your SACE St e

To start, choose an option, and you will return to this Quick Start menu after you have No License Information Available

phone number and
emd" Clddl'eSS as _I_hese Applications Additional Activities

B Start a New Application or Take an Exam Add Authorized

O re 1- h e fO S -I- eST WO ys TO 'California State Board of optometry ] Representative

reach you about your S

application.

Back to Top | Conditions of Use | Privacy Policy | Accessibility
Copyright © 2019 State of California

California State Board of
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Schedule Your Exam

« After you submit your application, you will be
contacted by PSI to schedule your exam either
via email or mail. EMAIL is faster.

* You should be contacted within two (2) weeks
of your application submission if you used EMAIL
— check your spam folder!

* PSllocations are located all over the US.

« Study guides are sent to you with information on
how 1o take the exam

 |If you fail the exam you will need to wait three
(3) months to retake it.

« The exam is valid for five (5) years after you pass. -
OﬁfSHéﬁ)"/



You Passed the CLRE!

* Log back into your BreEZe account to complete your “Initial License
Application — Part 2. Click on the first “select” button under
Manage my Application.

« Required Documents for Initial License Application to be considered
complete and ready for review:

* Live Scan fingerprinting
« Transcripts
« NBEO scores

Logged in as test, arsha Update Profile | Logoff | Contact U
Quick Start Menu License/Registration
Information

To start, choose an option, and you will return to this Quick Start menu after you have No License Information Available

Applicant Activities Additional Activities
B Manage your application B Payment Receipts (1) M
Optometrist File #10001484 W Add Authorized Representative m
Initial License M M License Notification Subscriptions m
Applications California State Board of
M Start a New Application or Take an Exam O pto metry

<Choose Board> v
‘ <Choose Application> V‘ @




Application Review

Once the Initfial License Application is
submitted and all required documents
received, your application will be reviewed.

If your application meets the requirements,
your license will be issued.

If your application is missing items or
information, we will contact you to let you
know what is outstanding.

Your license cannot be issued until your

application meets all requirements. Oﬁlﬁaﬁgﬁf‘;}



Application Review

Heading to a Residency Program?

d  Application Valid for ONE (1) year

d Exemption from CE only valid if the
CA license is issued within one (1)
year of graduation.
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Processing Times

© o

Approximately 1-3 Your transcripts High call volume Keep your
weeks for and board scores and email contact
completed are senf fo us communication information
applications. from your can lengthen updated!
University and processing times
NBEO after you overall.
graduate.

California State Board of
Optometry



What do | do after | get my license?

Noftify the Board of every location you are practicing
optometry.

These secondary locations can be applied for on BreEZe
via the Statement of Licensure application.

If you will own your own practice, you may need a
Fictitious Name Permit.

If you are desiring to incorporate you must file with the
Secretary of State’s office as a professional corporation.
Corporate names will need a Fictitious Name Permit.
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When are Renewals?

« Your initial license is active for two (2) years and expires at
the end of the month it was issued in, if not renewed.

« There is NO Confinuing Education (CE) requirement for your
initial renewal if your license was issued within one (1) year
of graduation.

« All other renewal periods require 50 hours of CE, with 35
hours in fopics related to ocular disease, with 10 of those
hours in glaucoma.
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CE AUDITS

« Annually, the Board randomly selects 5-10 percent of
renewing licensees for CE audits.

e |f selected, the Board will first review CE hours on ARBO OE

Tracker. If compliance is obtained the audit will conclude
at this step.

* |f more information is necessary, the Board will contact you
requesting submission of additional CE information within 30
days.

« Cooperation during the audit is critical to ensuring a
successful outcome.

 Failing a CE audit could lead to a citation and fine. b ———
Optometry



The Boar

About Us | ContactUs | Verify a License f

Department of Consumer Affairs iy -
Access to: California State Board of Optometry Seach U

A CONSUMERS | OPTOMETRISTS | OPTICIANS FORMS!PUBLICATIONS|

Board meetings. ‘ R

Noticesr

Chq nges U ’ O California State Board of

regulati tometr
License P y

Fact Sheet

The California State Board of Optometry
protects the health and safety of California
consumers through licensing and regulation of Secretony

the practices of Optometry and Opticianry. B

goney
LOURDES M.
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Good Luc

O CallAEorma State Bflrd of
2450 Del Paso Road,
Sacramento, CA #

916) 575-717

Consu‘ee (866) 585-2666
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