Dispensing Optician Program Registration Renewal
In California, registration as a Dispensing Optician (business location), Spectacle Lens Dispenser, Contact Lens Dispenser, and Nonresident Contact Lens Seller must be renewed every two years. It is illegal to operate or work as a Dispensing Optician, Spectacle Lens Dispenser, Contact Lens Dispenser, or Nonresident Contact Lens Seller with an expired registration. The registration expires at midnight on the expiration date.
Currently, Registered Dispensing Optician Program registrants are unable to renew their registrations online. Registrants must renew by mail.
When renewing by mail, the renewal must be on the Board's renewal form, and must include the current renewal fee and any delinquent fees. Please allow 4-8 weeks for processing. If a renewal notice is not received, the registration must still be renewed before the expiration date on the registration.
Forms, information about current renewal fees, and requirements may be obtained by contacting:
California State Board of Optometry
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105
Sacramento, CA 95834
(916) 575-7170 or (866) 585-2666
Disciplinary Action Disclosure:
When renewing, each licensee must disclose whether they have had any license disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body, or have been convicted of any crime in any state, the USA and its territories, military court or a foreign country. License includes permits, registrations, and certificates.
Conviction includes a plea of no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanor, and felonies. You do not need to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or controlled substances.
Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, or any other restriction.
For additional information, please contact the Board
Phone: (916) 575-7170
Fax: (916) 575-7292
Failure to Renew:
Operating or working as a Dispensing Optician, Spectacle Lens Dispenser, Contact Lens Dispenser, and Nonresident Contact Lens Seller without a valid registration may lead to disciplinary action against the registrant.
There is no grace period; if a registration has not been renewed within 30 days following the expiration date, the Licensing Program will notify the registrant by mail. The date a registration expires, the status is changed to "delinquent" if the renewal application and fees due are not received.
If a registration is renewed more than 30 days following the expiration date, the registrant is required to pay a $50 delinquency fee.
After a registration has been in "delinquent" status for five years, the registration is automatically canceled. A canceled registration may not be reactivated by simply paying delinquent fees. The Dispensing Optician, Spectacle Lens Dispenser, Contact Lens Dispenser, or Nonresident Contact Lens Seller must apply for a new registration and meet the current registration requirements.
Frequently Asked Questions:
When can I expect to receive my renewal application?
Renewal applications are sent by U.S. Mail to the registrant's address of record approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of a registration. If you do not receive a renewal application two months prior to your registration expiration date, contact the Board at (916) 575-7170 or (866) 585-2666 to request a duplicate renewal application. To ensure timely receipt of renewal applications, always keep the Board informed of any address changes. It is the responsibility of the registrant to renew his or her registration whether a notice has been received or not.
I didn't get my renewal application because my address changed. Do I have to pay the delinquent fee?
Yes. A registrant is required by law to notify the Board in writing within 30 days of a change of address.
Why do I have to pay?
California law requires that to maintain an active, current registration, each registrant, including out-of-state registrants, must pay the full biennial renewal fee at the time of registration renewal.
I'm leaving the country. Can I pay my renewal fee ahead of time?
The renewal must be paid within the 90 days prior to the expiration of the license.
What is required to renew a registration?
Payment of the renewal fee and completion of the registration renewal application are required for registration renewal.
In addition, Registered Spectacle Lens Dispenser and Registered Contact Lens Dispensers must provide a response to the Criminal Conviction Disclosure and provide information on their current employer.
The renewal fee for Registered Dispensing Opticians, Spectacle Lens Dispensers, Contact Lens Dispensers, and Nonresident Contact Lens Sellers is $200.00. The renewed registration is valid for two years.
Delinquent Fees: For Dispensing Optician, Spectacle Lens Dispenser, Contact Lens Dispenser, and Nonresident Contact Lens Seller in addition to the renewal fee, a delinquent fee of $50 will be added if payment is not received within 30 days following the expiration date of the registration.
Expired Registrations: The Board will need to determine the correct renewal and delinquent fees. Please contact the Board at (916) 575-7170 to obtain the current amount you will need to pay.