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Authority: Business and Professions Code § (BPC) 3041(f)(5)
and California Code of Regulations (CCR) §1571

FEE: $35

* You must have a current California Optometrist License and have a Therapeutic
Pharmaceutical Agent (TPA) Certification to be eligible for Glaucoma Certification

Name: License #: | School/College
Graduation Date:

Principal Place of Practice Address: Phone #:

City: State: Zip: E-mail Address:

Please indicate the following:

O | graduated from an accredited school/college of optometry after May 1, 2000.
Requirements: 1) Exempt from the 24-hour didactic course; and
2) Must complete the case management requirement (minimum of 25 individual
patients are each prospectively treated for a minimum of 12 consecutive months).

O 1 graduated from an accredited school/college of optometry prior to May 1, 2000 and have
completed the 24-hour didactic course. | began the glaucoma certification process between the
dates of 1/1/2001 to 12/31/2009 pursuant to Senate Bill (SB) 929 (50 patients for two-years) but
did not complete the requirements.

Requirements: 1) May apply all patients who have been co-managed prospectively for 12 consecutive
months toward the case management requirement.
2) Follow CCR 81571 glaucoma certification process if additional patients are needed
to complete the case management requirement.

O 1 graduated from an accredited school/college of optometry prior to May 1, 2000 and have not
completed a 24-hour didactic course.
Requirements: 1) Must complete the 24-hour didactic course; and
2) Must complete the case management requirement.

O 1 graduated from an accredited school/college of optometry prior to May 1, 2000 and have
completed the 24-hour didactic course.
Requirements: 1) Must complete the case management requirement.

If you completed the 24-Hour Didactic Course please fill out the following:

School/College of Optometry: Year of Completion:
**Please provide a copy of your certificate of completion with this application.
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Method(s) used to complete the case management requirement:

O Case Management Course approved by the Board of Optometry on April 11, 2011.
(A copy of your certificate of completion for this course must be attached to complete this application. This
course may be completed only once for credit towards certification.)

O Grand Rounds Program approved by the Board of Optometry on April 11, 2011.
(A copy of your certificate of completion for this course must be attached to complete this application. This
program may be completed only once for credit towards certification.)

O Preceptorship Program effective January 8, 2011.
(Please complete and attach the “Documentation of Co-Management of Glaucoma Patients for Preceptorship
Program” form to complete this application.)

O Applying 25 patients who have been co-managed prospectively for 12 consecutive months
pursuant to SB 929, if you began the SB 929 glaucoma certification process between the
dates of 1/1/2001 to 12/31/2009.

(Please complete and attach the “Documentation of Co-Management of Glaucoma Patients for Preceptorship
Program” form. You must use the most current form to complete this application.)

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information
provided on this form and the attached documents or other requested proof of completion is true and
I understand and agree that any misstatements of material facts may be cause for denial of the
glaucoma certificate and disciplinary action by the Board of Optometry.

Optometrist Signature: Date:
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Application for Glaucoma Certification
Instructions

Instructions to Complete the Application for Glaucoma Certification

Enter your first, middle and last name.

Enter your California optometry license number. Your license must be current and in good standing
with the California State Board of Optometry to qualify for glaucoma certification.

Enter the date that you graduated from optometry school or college.

Enter your principal place of practice address, city, state and zip.

Enter your phone number. You may need to be contacted if your application is deficient.
Enter your e-mail address. You may need to be contacted if your application is deficient.

Indicate in which category you are under for glaucoma certification. If you do not fit under any of
these typical situations, please contact the Board’s Licensing Unit at 916-575-7170 for assistance.

Indicate if you completed the 24-hour Didactic Course, where it was taken and the year of
completion. Please provide a copy of your certificate of completion with this application. Although
it is not mandatory to include a copy of your certificate of completion, be prepared to provide a copy
in the event the Board conducts an audit at a later date. You are also signing the application and
certifying under penalty of perjury that what you are claiming on the application is true and correct.

Indicate the method or methods used to complete the case management requirement. The following
combinations are possible:

1 Case Management Course + Grand Rounds Program

15 patient credits + 15 patient credits = 30 patients
Case Management Course + Preceptorship Program
2 15 patient credits + 10 patients co-managed with a preceptor
and prospectively treated for a minimum of
12 consecutive months = 25 patients
3 Grand Rounds Program + Preceptorship Program = 25 patients

Preceptorship Program only
4 25 patients co-managed with a preceptor and prospectively treated
for a minimum of 12 consecutive months = 25 patients

Applying 1 to 25 patients who have + Follow CCR § 1571 glaucoma

5 been co-managed prospectively for certification process if additional = 25 patients
at least 12 consecutive months pursuant  patients are needed to complete
to Senate Bill 929 between the dates the case management requirement

of 1/1/2001 and to 12/31/2009

Declaration — With your signature, you are declaring that the information you have entered on your
application is true and correct. Any misstatements may be grounds to deny your application.
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Application for Glaucoma Certification
Requirements

Requirements for Glaucoma Certification:

Business and Professions Code (BPC) Section 3041(f)(1)-(5) and California Code of Regulations (CCR)
Section 1571 list the applicable requirements that a Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agent (TPA) certified
optometrist must meet to receive a glaucoma certification:

1. Licensees who graduated from an accredited school or college of optometry on or after May 1, 2008, are
exempt from the didactic course and case management requirements, provided they submit proof of graduation
from that institution to the Board.”

2. Licensees who graduated from an accredited school or college of optometry prior to May 1, 2000, and who
have not completed a didactic course of no less than 24 hours will be required to take the 24-hour course
indicated in subsection (a) of CCR section 1571. Licensees who graduated from an accredited school or college
of optometry after May 1, 2000, are exempt from the didactic course requirement of CCR section 1571.

3. Licensees who graduated from an accredited school or college of optometry prior to May 1, 2008, and who
have taken a didactic course of no less than 24 hours, but not completed the case management requirement
under SB 929 (Stats. 2000, ch. 676, § 3), will be required to complete the Case Management Requirement indicated
in subsection (a) of CCR section 1571.

4. Licensees who were certified to treat glaucoma pursuant to BPC section 3041(f)(1)-(2) prior to January 1,
2009, must submit proof of completion of that certification program.

5. Licensees who have substantially completed the certification requirements pursuant to BPC section 3041 in
effect between January 1, 2001 and December 31, 2008, must submit proof of completion of those requirements
on or before December 31, 2009. “Substantially completed” means both of the following:

(A) Satisfactory completion of a didactic course of no less than 24 hours in the diagnosis, pharmacological and
other treatment and management of glaucoma.

(B) Treatment of 50 glaucoma patients with a collaborating California-licensed ophthalmologist for a period of
two years for each patient that concludes on or before December 31, 2009.

6. Licensees who started the process for certification to treat glaucoma under SB 929 (Stats. 2000, ch. 676, § 3)
and did not complete the requirements by December 31, 2009, may apply all patients who have been co-managed
prospectively for at least 12 consecutive months towards the Case Management Requirement indicated in subsection
(@) of CCR section 1571.

7. For licensees who graduated from an accredited school/college of optometry on or before May 1, 2008, and
are not described in 1-6 above, must submit proof of satisfactory completion of the requirements for
certification in CCR Section 1571.

Please Note: Licensees that are glaucoma certified pursuant to CCR section 1571 shall be required to complete
10 hours of glaucoma specific continuing optometric education every license renewal period. These 10 hours
shall be part of the required 35 hours on the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease (CCR
Section 1571 (b)).
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