

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834 P (916) 575-7170 | Toll-Free (866) 585-2666 | www.optometry.ca.gov

ETRY

FACT SHEET FINGERPRINTING INFORMATION

<u>Disclosure of Convictions and Discipline</u>

To renew a license that expires at midnight on the last day of the licensee's birth month every two years, the Board requires the licensee to disclose whether, since his or her last renewal, he or she has had any other license disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body; or has been convicted of any crime in any state, the United States and its territories, military court or other country. If a response of "yes" is provided, additional information regarding the matter will be requested by the Board.

"Conviction" includes a plea of guilty or no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies. It is not necessary to report a conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than \$300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or a controlled substance. However, any convictions in which a plea of no contest was entered and any convictions that were subsequently set aside or deferred pursuant to Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code must be disclosed. "License" includes permits, registrations, and certificates. "Discipline" includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, reprimand or any other restriction on a license held by you.

New Fingerprint Requirement

Regulations require the submission of fingerprints upon license renewal. Due to a change in the regulations, fingerprints are now checked by the Department of Justice (DOJ) **and** the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Prior to 2007, background checks were only processed through DOJ. If your license was issued prior to April 1, 2007 and you were fingerprinted by the Board, you are still required to submit fingerprints. Live Scan is required for California residents and a Manual Fingerprint Card is required for non-California residents.

Fingerprinting by another agency or your employer is not sufficient to meet the requirement.

There is a one-time processing of your fingerprints in order to maintain a current and active Optometry license in California. The current processing fee for DOJ and FBI is \$49.00. In addition, a print "rolling" fee may be required at the fingerprint site. The fingerprint requirement will be waived if the license is renewed in an inactive status. However, a request to have an inactive Optometry license re-activated to "active" status will require fingerprints to be submitted. Fingerprints may be submitted anytime prior to the renewal date.

There are two methods available for completing the fingerprint requirement. The first method is Live Scan and must be used for Optometrists residing in California. The second method for Optometrists not residing in California is a manual fingerprint card (hard card). Instructions for obtaining and completing both methods are found below.



BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834
P (916) 575-7170 | Toll-Free (866) 585-2666 | www.optometry.ca.gov

To obtain information regarding the submission of your fingerprints and/or to complete the Live Scan Service form, you may visit the Board's website at https://www.optometry.ca.gov/fags/fingerprint.shtml

Method 1 - Live Scan Process (California residents only)

If you reside in California, you must use the Live Scan Service. At the Live Scan site, your fingerprints will be electronically scanned and transmitted immediately to the Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation for processing. Begin by following the instructions below.

You must use the Board's live scan form. Other live scan forms are not accepted. To request a live scan form you may submit a request in writing via email to: optometry@dca.ca.gov.

Completing the Request for Live Scan Service Form:

Complete all areas on the form marked with an asterisk, print three copies. Take all three forms to the Live Scan site with your fee.

After your fingerprints are scanned:

1st copy of form is kept by the Live Scan Operator; 2nd copy of form, attach to your renewal form and mail to the Board of Optometry; 3rd copy of form is for your records.

Visit https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/contactus to locate Live Scan sites. Most local law enforcement agencies in California have Live Scan equipment. Hours of operation and fees vary, so please contact the Live Scan site directly for information. The Board can only accept Live Scan completed in California.

Method 2 – Manual Fingerprint Card (hard card)(non-California residents only)

You must use the Board's fingerprint cards. To request a manual fingerprint card (hard card), you may submit a request in writing via email to: optometry@dca.ca.gov

Instructions for hard card submittal:

Please take the hard card to a qualified fingerprint office, i.e., law enforcement, where they will roll your prints (a fee may be charged). Log on to the Board's website at www.optometry.ca.gov, click on the New Fingerprint Requirements on the What's New Page, click the Fingerprint Certification Form link, complete the form, sign and date it. Send the completed card and form with the \$49.00 Dept. of Justice and FBI fees to the Board of Optometry, Attn. Fingerprint Coordinator, 2450 Del Paso Rd., Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834. Please make checks/money orders payable to the California State Board of Optometry.

Failure to submit a full set of fingerprints will make your license ineligible for renewal and may be grounds for discipline by the Board.