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New continuing optometric 
education opportunities available! 
The Board has adopted a regulation, effective June 17, 2011, that increases continu­
ing optometric education (CE) opportunities for California optometrists. The Board is 
hopeful that the following CE will not only keep optometrists current on the practice of 
optometry, but apprised on new trends in the profession at home and nationwide. 

•	 Up to eight credit hours for course work in ethics in the practice of 
optometry. 

•	 Up to two credit hours for a full day’s attendance of a Board meeting. 

•	 Up to four credit hours for course work to receive certification in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) from the American Heart Association, 
the American Red Cross or other association approved by the board. 

•	 The ability for the Board to recognize and utilize the Association of Regulatory 
Boards in Optometry’s (ARBO) Optometric Education (OE) Tracker system as 
proof of CE course attendance. 

•	 The ability for the Board to grant an extension, in its discretion if good cause 
exists, to licensees who are unable to complete sufficient hours of CE. 

REMINDER: Effective January 8, 2011, in order to renew an “active” license, the law 
requires licensed optometrists who are TPG or TLG certified to follow the same con­
tinuing education requirements as a TPA certified optometrist, with one additional 
requirement. Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1571 (b), 
licensed optometrists that are glaucoma certified are required to complete 10 hours 
of glaucoma specific continuing education every license renewal period. These 10 
hours shall be part of the 35 hours in the diagnosis and treatment and management 
of ocular disease. 



 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	  

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 
 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 
 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	  

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

 
 

Upcoming law 
examination 
workshops 
Earn up to eight continuing 
optometric education credits 
and the opportunity to con­
tribute to the profession of 
optometry. 

Experts have the opportunity to meet and work with other 
licensed optometrists from around the State on the develop­
ment, review, and grading of the California Laws and Regulations 
Examination. Many experts find the experience very rewarding 
and choose to return year after year. 

To sign up, please go to www.optometry.ca.gov/licensee/work­
shops.shtml to print out and fill out a registration form. Please 
contact Andrea Leiva at andrea.leiva@dca.ca.gov for questions 
regarding the workshops. 

November 13-14, 2011 (Sunday and Monday): Item Writ­
ing and Review Workshop 

Purpose: To review the current questions in the California Laws 
and Regulations Examination and to write new questions. Par­
ticipants will receive training on how to write an exam question 
and will work in conjunction with a testing specialist to develop 
examination questions. 
8 CE CREDITS 

December 5, 2011 (Monday): Exam Construction 

Purpose: In this workshop, subject matter experts will select 
potential questions for the 2011-2012 California Laws and Regu­
lations Examination. Participants will evaluate items for each con­
tent area included in the examination and select those that best 
represent the knowledge required for entry into the profession. 
4 CE CREDITS 

January 23, 2012 (Monday): Passing Score 

Purpose: This workshop establishes the passing score of the 
2011-2012 California Laws and Regulations Examination. Under 
the facilitation of a testing specialist, participants will apply mini­
mum competence standards to establish a criterion-referenced 
passing score. 
4 CE CREDITS 

February 26-27, 2012 (Sunday and Monday): Item Writing 
and Review Workshop 

Purpose: To review the current questions in the California Laws 
and Regulations Examination and to write new questions. Par­
ticipants will receive training on how to write an exam question 
and will work in conjunction with a testing specialist to develop 
examination questions. 
8 CE CREDITS 

March 26, 2012 (Monday): Exam Construction 

Purpose: In this workshop, subject matter experts will select 
potential questions for the 2011-2012 California Laws and Regu­
lations Examination. Participants will evaluate items for each con­
tent area included in the examination and select those that best 
represent the knowledge required for entry into the profession. 
4 CE CREDITS 

April 23, 2012 (Monday): Passing Score 

Purpose: This workshop establishes the passing score of the 
2011-2012 California Laws and Regulations Examination. Under 
the facilitation of a testing specialist, participants will apply mini­
mum competence standards to establish a criterion-referenced 
passing score. 
4 CE CREDITS 

2 

mailto:andrea.leiva@dca.ca.gov
www.optometry.ca.gov/licensee/work


3 

 
 

	 	 	 	 	 		
 

	 	 	 	 	 	 		
  
  
 

		 	 	 	 	 	 	 		
  
   
 

		 	 	 	 	 		
 

 

 
 

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 
Scams to look out for 
when renewing your 
ficticious name 
Always know who you are dealing with or your renewal 
may be late! 
Optometrists who use a third party business to assist in the renewal of their fic­
titious name may find that they are paying too much for a relatively inexpensive 
permit, or that their payments are not reaching the correct State entity at all. The 
Board has received several complaints from local optometrists who attempted 
to renew their fictitious name through an outside business, rather than directly 
with the Board of Optometry or their county recorder. This can result in unneces­
sary late fees or disciplinary action by the Board due to an expired permit. 

These companies, located in the Sacramento and Los Angeles areas, claim to 
file regulatory paperwork for business owners throughout the State. They typi­
cally charge a fee to register or change fictitious names of corporations with the 
Secretary of State or renew or change the names on city and county business 
licenses. Unfortunately, they pocket the funds and do not end up turning in 
anything to any State agency. 

To avoid late fees and the expiration of your fictitious name, all applications and 
renewal fees must be submitted directly to the Board of Optometry at the follow­
ing address: 

California State Board of Optometry 
Attn: Licensing Unit 
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

Remember, the Board sends renewal notices approximately 60 days before a 
fictitious name will expire. Applying, renewing or changing a license or corpora­
tion name may be done through the Board of Optometry or other appropriate 
State agency without additional cost. To make sure you are sending your infor­
mation to the correct location, always call the State agency directly to verify, not 
the third party business. 

If you receive any suspicious mail soliciting fees to act on your behalf or as an 
intermediary for licensing or changing a business name, contact the Board of 
Optometry, local police or sheriff’s department, and the Better Business Bureau 
to report the suspected fraud. Complaints can also be filed with the Attorney 
General’s Office. Look for the following text on suspicious mail required by Busi­
ness and Professions Code section 17533.6 (a) as a key that the document is a 
scam: 

This service has not been approved or endorsed by any government agency, 
and this offer is not being made by an agency of the Government. The fee for 
this service is not required to be paid by or to any government agency. This is 
not a bill. This is a solicitation. You are under no obligation to pay the amount 
stated, unless you accept the offer.  

Board of Optometry 
Enforcement 
Program 
seeks experts 
The Board of Optometry Enforcement 
Program is seeking qualified optometrists 
with the professional and educational 
background required to review case materi­
als, prepare written reports, and possibly 
testify at administrative hearings as an 
expert witness on behalf of the Board. 
Expert witnesses must meet the following 
requirements: 

•	 Possess a current and active California 
optometric license. 

•	 Have five or more years of experience 
and expertise in one of the areas listed 
above AND current employment in that 
setting. 

• No prior or current charges or discipline 
against any healthcare related license 
in California or in any other place of 
licensure. 

• No criminal convictions, including any 
that were expunged or dismissed. 

If you meet the requirements and are inter­
ested in serving as an expert witness for 
the Board, please complete the application 
which can be obtained at www.optometry. 
ca.gov/formspubs/recruit_experts.pdf 
and follow the instructions carefully. 

Send the application and your resume 
including your practice history to: 

Board of Optometry 
Attn: Enforcement Program 
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

www.optometry


	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 

 
	 	 	 

 

 

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

Glaucoma certificate 
update and frequently 
asked questions 
The lawsuit filed by the California Medical Association (CMA) and 
the California Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons (CAEPS) 
challenging the validity of the glaucoma certification regulation 
has finally come to an end. In the May 2, 2011, ruling, the judge 
found that: (1) the Board acted within its rulemaking author­
ity under Business and Professions Code Section 3025 and no 
abuse of discretion was shown; and (2) CMA and CAEPS did not 
demonstrate standing in their arguments against the regulation. 
CMA and CAEPS had a 60-day period to appeal the judge’s ruling, 
which ended on July 26, 2011. No appeal was received from 
either party thus marking the end of the lawsuit. The Board is 
pleased to be able to continue to certify qualified optometrists 
who are interested in becoming glaucoma certified, and to have 
assisted the legislature in protecting the public with these regula­
tions and increasing much needed access to care. 

In order to streamline the glaucoma certification process, below 
are some frequently asked questions regarding the require­
ments for certification and how to fill out the application and 
documentation form. 

Out of State Optometrists 

Q. I am currently certified to treat glaucoma in a state outside 
of California. If I decide to become licensed by the California 
State Board of Optometry, would my glaucoma certification be 
recognized? 

A. In order to treat glaucoma in the State of California, an out-of 
state optometrist must first obtain the following: (1) a license 
to practice in California (see Business and Professions Code 
(BPC) section 3057); and (2) TPA certification (see BPC 
section 3041.3(d)). For glaucoma certification, there is no 
special “out-of-state” status or category. You will need to meet 
the requirements for whatever category you fit under in BPC 
section 3041(f), before you may treat glaucoma in the State 
of California. 

Case Management Course 

Q. Can I take the case management course at the Southern 
California College of Optometry and then take it again at the 
University of California, Berkeley? I would be taking the course at 
two different schools, so that should be OK right? 

A. No. You are still taking the same course twice and there is no 
educational value in repeating a course. 

Q. Can I take the case management course twice in a row or the 
grand rounds program twice in a row to meet the 25-patient 
requirement? 

A. No. There would be no educational value in repeating a 
course. 

The following are the Board’s recommended combinations to 
meet the 25-patient case management requirement: 

Combination 1: 
Case Management Course 
Grand Rounds Program 

Combination 2: 
Case Management Course 
Preceptorship Program 

Combination 3: 
Grand Rounds Course 
Preceptorship Program 

Combination 4: 
Preceptorship Program 

Preceptorship Program 

Q. Can I use glaucoma suspects in the preceptorship program? 

A. No. The patient must be diagnosed with glaucoma. 

Q. I noticed that in the proposed regulations, a preceptor can be 
either an ophthalmologist or a glaucoma certified optometrist. 
I’ve just hired an optometrist who graduated this year. Be­
cause she is TLG certified, I want to have her be my preceptor 
so I can become glaucoma certified. Is that OK? 

A. No. A glaucoma certified optometrist must have been 
glaucoma certified for two or more years prior to becoming a 
preceptor. 

4 



	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

  
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	

 
	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

Q. Do I have to begin seeing my 25 glaucoma patients on or after 
January 8, 2011? I’ve been following glaucoma patients in 
nursing homes this past year under the supervision of an oph­
thalmology group so I’m not sure if I can use those residents 
and their initial dates of treatment since they are earlier than 
January 8, 2011. 

A. Yes, the 25 patients must be seen starting January 8, 2011, 
or after for 12 consecutive months. Between the dates of 
January 1, 2010, to January 7, 2011, (about one year) there 
was no provision in law for California licensed optometrists to 
become glaucoma certified unless you graduated from one of 
the schools or colleges of optometry on May 1, 2008, or after. 
Optometrists who began the co-management program (50 
patients for two years with an ophthalmologist) under Senate 
Bill 929 (Polanco, Chapter 676, Statutes of 2000) between 
the dates of January 1, 2001, and December 31, 2009, may 
be given credit for patients that were co-managed with an 
ophthalmologist. There are two groups of optometrists that 
can choose to do the preceptorship program: 

Group One: Optometrists who began the co-management pro­
gram (50 patients for 2 years with an ophthalmologist) under 
SB 929 between the dates of January 1, 2001, and December 
31, 2009. 

Pursuant to the recently approved regulations California Code 
of Regulations (CCR) Section 1571 (f), licensees who started 
the process for certification to treat glaucoma under SB 929 
but will not complete the requirements by December 31, 
2009, may apply all patients who have been co-managed 
prospectively for at least 12 consecutive months towards the 
case management requirement indicated in subsection (a) of 
CCR Section 1571. 

Group Two: Optometrists who have not started any sort of 
co-management program. This group needs to begin counting 
patients and 12 consecutive months on January 8, 2011, or 
after. 

Q. I am an optometrist that has been glaucoma certified for three 
years. There are four other optometrists in my office who are 
not glaucoma certified and would like me to be their preceptor. 
Since we all work in the same practice, can we share the same 
patients? 

A. Although the law does not indicate that this is not possible, 
remember that each optometrist must do all the steps re­
quired in the preceptorship program when treating the patient. 
A minimum of 25 individual patients must each be prospec­

tively treated for a minimum of 12 consecutive months. The 
preceptorship option is not another version of the Grand 
Rounds Program. The intention of the preceptorship pro­
gram is for an optometrist to treat 25 of their own individual 
patients each in order to maximize the learning experience. 

Q. I have an active license in California and Texas, but I current­
ly live and work in Texas. Can I do the preceptorship program 
in Texas with a Texas glaucoma certified optometrist or 
ophthalmologist? 

A. No. The preceptor must be:
 
1) A California licensed, Board certified ophthalmologist in good
 

standing; or 
2) A California licensed optometrists in good standing, who has 

been glaucoma certified for two or more years. (CCR Section 
1571 (A)(4)(C)) 

Q. My preceptor is a glaucoma certified optometrist. Who 
writes the prescriptions for the patients? 

A. Your preceptor must write all prescriptions throughout the 
preceptorship program. You may only “treat” as defined in 
CCR Section 1571 (A)(4): 

“For purposes of this section, ‘treat’ means properly evalu­
ating the patient, performing all necessary tests, diagnos­
ing the patient, recognizing the type of glaucoma within a 
licensee’s scope of practice, creating a treatment plan with 
proposed medications and target pressures, ongoing moni­
toring and re-evaluation of the patient’s condition, and mak­
ing timely referrals to an ophthalmologist when appropriate.” 

Didactic Course 

Q. If I graduated from the Southern California College of Optom­
etry on May 1, 2003, do I have to take the didactic course? 

A. No, you don’t have to take the didactic course. According 
to CCR Section 1571 (d), licensees who graduated from an 
accredited school or college of optometry after May 1, 2000, 
are exempt from the didactic course. 

Q. Do I have to provide proof of completion of the 24-hour 
didactic course with my application for glaucoma certifica­
tion? 

A. You don’t have to provide a copy of your certificate of 
completion, but you will have to indicate on the application 
if you took the course or not, where you took the course and 
when you completed it. You will also have to sign the ap­
plication and certify by penalty of perjury that what you are 

5 
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claiming on the application is true and correct. Be prepared 
to provide a copy of your certification of completion of the 
24-hour didactic course in the event the Board conducts an 
audit at a later date. 

Q. I completed a 24-hour didactic course out of state. Can I 
apply that to the didactic course requirement or do I need to 
take it again in California? 

A. If you graduated from an accredited school or college of 
optometry anywhere in the United States on or after May 
1, 2000, you would be exempt from the 24-hour didactic 
course. If you graduated from an accredited school or col­
lege of optometry anywhere in the United States but did not 
take the 24-hour didactic course, then you will have to take 
the course, and it can be taken in California or anywhere the 
course is offered. 

Q. I am an ophthalmologist who is interested in becoming a 
preceptor. Can I charge to be a preceptor? 

A. At this time there is nothing in law that prevents a precep­
tor from requesting payment for their services. 

Application and Documentation Form 

Q. On the documentation of co-management form, regarding 
the date of initial evaluation, date of diagnosis confirmed 
and treatment planned approved, and the date of the thera­
peutic goals and management plan approved, can they all 
be the same date? My preceptor usually sees the patient 
and sends out a report that day with confirmation of all of 
the above. 

A. Yes, this is fine, as it does not specify otherwise in CCR 
section 1571. 

Q. For the consultation dates on the documentation of co­
management form, do we only indicate the intervals between 
consultation dates that the preceptor and I have agreed upon as 
clinically appropriate for the patient? For example, three, or four 
months? 

A. No. You will need to document the actual dates that you con­
sulted with the patient i.e., visit 1 - May 1, 2011; visit 2 - July 1, 
2011, etc. 

Q. I began the glaucoma certification process established under 
SB 929 and was only able to treat 45 patients before the pro­
cess became obsolete on December 31, 2009. I already filled 
out the old form and application and have been saving them to 
submit to the Board when the new law came into effect. Can I 
turn in the old form and application, or do I have to fill out the 
new documentation form and application? 

A. You will have to fill out the new documentation form and ap­
plication. 

General Questions 

Q. Now that I am glaucoma certified, I’m thinking about working 
for a private or HMO plan in California. All I need is my glaucoma 
certification to bill for my services, right? 

A. No. In order to bill for services provided for glaucoma, California 
private and HMO plans would have to allow optometrists to be on 
a medical panel. Very few, if any plans, are allowing this at this 
time. If you treat patients under the Medi-Cal program, you may 
bill any procedure necessary to treat the patient. Please check 
with each plan you are a provider for to obtain the full details, as 
this information may not apply to all private and HMO plans. 

Visit the Board’s Web site at www.optometry.ca.gov/lawsregs/ap­
provedreg.shtml to view the entire approved regulation. 

www.optometry.ca.gov/lawsregs/ap
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The following is a list of 
disciplinary and enforcement 
actions taken by the Board in 
2011: 

Probation 

Dea, Marc (OPT 11124) 
San Lorenzo, CA 
Stipulated Decision. Displayed unprofes­
sional conduct involving gross negligence, 
incompetence, failure to refer to (an) appro­
priate physician, and failure to maintain 
adequate records. Effective February 18, 
2011, respondent’s license is revoked, the 
revocation is stayed, and respondent is 
placed on three years probation. 

McEldowney, Phillip (OPT 9742) 
Garden Grove, CA 
Adopted Decision. Effective February 18, 
2011, respondent’s license is revoked, the 
revocation is stayed, and respondent is 
placed on five years probation for failure to 
abide by the following terms and condi­
tions of his previous probation: failure to 
submit written reports, failure to obtain an 
approved supervisor, failure to take law por­
tion of licensing examination, and failure to 
take an ethics course. 

Nell, Edward (OPT 6522) 
Santa Clara, CA 
Stipulated Decision. Displayed unprofes­
sional conduct involving conviction of a 
crime substantially related to the qualifica­
tions, functions, or duties of an optom­
etrist; and using alcoholic beverages in a 
manner dangerous to oneself or others. 
Effective February 18, 2011, respondent’s 
license is revoked, the revocation is stayed, 
and he is placed on five years probation fol­
lowing certain terms and conditions. 

Disciplinary 
and 
enforcement 
actions 

Nguyen, Huyen (OPT 10148) 
Sacramento, CA 
Stipulated Decision. Stipulated Decision. Ef­
fective May 18, 2011, respondent’s license 
is revoked, the revocation is stayed, and re­
spondent is placed on five years probation 
for failure to abide by the following terms 
and conditions of her previous probation: 
failure to obey all laws, failure to submit 
timely written reports, failure to comply 
with supervision requirements, and failure 
to comply with cost recovery program. 

Gibson, Brent (OPT 10198) 
Long Beach, CA 
Stipulated Decision. Effective August 4, 
2011, respondent’s license is revoked; 
the revocation is stayed and his license is 
placed on three years probation for convic­
tion of felony possession of a controlled 
substance and misdemeanor theft. 

Pending Accusations 
Armstrong, Robert (OPT 4890) 
Woodland Hills, CA 
Accusation Pending. Demonstrated gross 
negligence for failure to properly refer a 
patient to a physician. The California State 
Board of Optometry proposes that Dr. 
Armstrong’s license be revoked or 
suspended. 

Accusation Dismissed 
Millie, Elise (OPT 13430) 
Tampa, FL 
Effective August 10, 2011, the first 
amended accusation against respondent is 
dismissed. 

Revoked 
Cornelison, Brett (OPT 9861) 
Porterville, CA 
Default Decision. Effective May 19, 2011, 
respondent’s license is revoked for failure 
to abide by the following terms and condi­
tions of his probation: failure to comply 
with Probation Surveillance Program, failure 
to appear at orientation interview, failure 
to provide an explanation of noncompli­
ance, failure to submit a plan for another 
optometrist to monitor his practice, failure 
to maintain contact with the California Board 
of Optometry, and failure to submit a plan of 
reimbursement to the Board. 

Metcalf, Tina (OPT 11705) 
Via Princessa, CA 
Revocation of License by Default. Dis­
played unprofessional conduct for two 
convictions of a blood-alcohol content of 
0.8 percent or higher and dangerous use of 
alcoholic beverages. Effective April 7, 2011, 
respondent’s license is revoked. 

Vaughan, Collin (OPT 12990) 
Merced, CA 
Adopted Decision. Displayed unprofes­
sional conduct involving conviction of a 
crime substantially related to the qualifica­
tions, functions, or duties of an optometrist; 
and using alcoholic beverages in a manner 
dangerous to oneself or others. Effective 
February 25, 2011 respondent’s license is 
revoked. 

Young, Lawrence (OPT 8618) 
Fontana, CA 
Adopted Decision. Effective February 12, 
2011, respondent’s license is revoked for 
failure to abide by the following terms and 
conditions of his probation: failure to sub­
mit patient records, failure to obey all laws, 
failure to provide written quarterly reports, 
failure to function as an optometrist, failure 
to complete (an) optometry course, failure 
to comply with community services provi­
sion, and failure to comply with the cost 
recovery agreement. 

Surrendered 
Matson, Christine (OPT 7990) 
Brea, CA 
Stipulated Surrender of License. Effective 
July 29, 2011, respondent surrendered her 
license because she was unable to satisfy 
the conditions of her four-year probation for 
a conviction of driving with a blood-alcohol 
level at or greater than 0.08 percent and 
demonstrating unprofessional conduct by 
self-administering controlled substances 
and/or dangerous drugs. 

Weinberg, Scott (OPT 8136) 
Walnut Creek, CA 
Stipulated Surrender of License. Demon­
strated unprofessional conduct. Convicted 
of six counts of arson. Effective February 
17, 2011, respondent’s license is volun­
tarily surrendered. 

To view a printable version of the above accusations and decisions go to the “Citations and Disciplinary Actions” section of the Board’s 
Web site at www.optometry.ca.gov/consumers/2011_disciplinary.shtml 



 

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

 

		 	

		
		 	 	 	

	 	 	 	 	

2011 tentative board 
meeting dates 
December 2, 2011 
Location | Southern California College of Optometry 

The Board is working with schools and colleges of optometry 
to hold Board meetings on their campuses. The Board would 
like to take those opportunities to interact with California’s 
future optometrists and would like to invite all interested 
optometrists and individuals to attend. 

For the most current Board Meeting dates and locations, log 
on to www.optometry.ca.gov and go to “Board Meetings” 
under “Quick Hits” 

As of August 4, 2011, the Board of Optometry’s The Board of Optometry address has changed to: 
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 has moved! 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

Keep up with the news
 
Are you interested in the Board of Optometry’s 
latest actions? If so, join our subscriber’s list to 
get e-mail updates of: 

California State Board of Optometry 
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 
Sacramento, CA 95834 
(916) 575-7170 
www.optometry.ca.gov 

> Meeting agendas 
>  Regulation and law changes 
> Newsletters 
> Subject matter expert workshops 

To sign up, go to www.optometry.ca.gov and select the 
green “Join Our Mailing List” button. 

http:www.optometry.ca.gov
http:www.optometry.ca.gov
http:www.optometry.ca.gov

