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APPLICATION FOR OPTOMETRIST Receipt # Payor ID # Beneficiary ID # Amount
LICENSE RENEWAL (DPA CERTIFICATION ONLY)

Use this form if you have not received your renewal application in the mail. Allow 6 — 8 weeks for processing.

RENEWAL FEE: $425 DELINQUENT FEE: $50

The renewal process has seven (6) requirements:

1) Submit the renewal fee in the amount of $425. If you are mailing the renewal application after the expiration date, add the delinquency fee of $50. If your
license is delinquent more than one renewal cycle, contact the Board to determine your eligibility to renew your license, any fees due, and proof of
continuing education (CE).

2) Select the license status you are applying for: active or inactive.

3) Declare that you have completed the CE requirements or that the Board has granted you an extension or exception to complete the required CE.
Extensions or exceptions must be approved prior to the expiration of the license and your submission of this application for processing. Failure to answer
this question will deem your application deficient.

4) Disclosure of criminal activity or disciplinary action against a license by a government agency. Failure to answer this question will deem your application
deficient.

5) Compliance with the fingerprint requirement (see Page 2). Failure to answer this question will deem your application deficient.

6) Date and Sign the application. You are signing under penalty of perjury that the information is true and correct.

Additional information about the renewal process may be found at www.optometry.ca.gov

LICENSE NUMBER LICENSE EXPIRATION DATE
LEGAL NAME

(LAST) (FIRST) (MIDDLE)
ADDRESS: If you are currently practicing in California, you must provide the address of your principal place of practice. If you are applying for an
inactive license, or if you reside out-of-state, you must provide a current mailing address.

Street Address: Is this a change of address? O Yes City: State: Zip:

PHONE #: ( ) CELL #: ( ) E-MAIL ADDRESS:

License Status — Continuing Education — Conviction/Discipline History Information
I wish to renew my license as: A. O Active B. O Inactive

C. O I have completed the required hours of CE within the last two years or have been granted an exception or extension by the
Board. (See instructions to determine your eligibility for a CE exception/extension.)

D. O I have not completed the required CE and/or please renew my license with an inactive status.

FOR ALL LICENSEES: Subsequent to the issuance of your license — or — since you last renewed you license, have you had any
license disciplined by a government agency or have you been convicted of any crime in any state, the United States and its
territories, military court or a foreign country? E. O YES F. O NO

FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENT: (See next page for information)
Have you complied with the fingerprint requirement? O YES O NO

| certify, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing information is true and correct.

Signature Date
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Application for Optometrist License Renewal cont.
Disclosure of Convictions and Discipline
To renew a license that expires at midnight on the last day of the licensee’s birth month every two years, the Board requires
the licensee to disclose whether, since his or her last renewal, he or she has had any other license disciplined by a
government agency or other disciplinary body; or has been convicted of any crime in any state, the United States and its
territories, military court or other country. If a response of “yes” is provided, additional information regarding the matter will be
requested by the Board.

“Conviction” includes a plea of guilty or no contest and any conviction that has been set aside or deferred pursuant to
Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code, including infractions, misdemeanors, and felonies. It is not necessary to report a
conviction for an infraction with a fine of less than $300 unless the infraction involved alcohol or a controlled substance.
However, any convictions in which a plea of no contest was entered and any convictions that were subsequently set aside or
deferred pursuant to Sections 1000 or 1203.4 of the Penal Code must be disclosed. “License” includes permits, registrations,
and certificates. “Discipline” includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, reprimand
or any other restriction on a license held by you.

New Fingerprint Requirement

Regulations require the submission of fingerprints upon license renewal. Due to a change in the regulations, fingerprints are
now checked by the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). Prior to 2007, background
checks were only processed through DOJ. If your license was issued prior to April 1, 2007 and you did not complete the
fingerprint process in the last two renewal cycles, you are required to submit fingerprints. Live Scan is required for California
residents and a Manual Fingerprint Card is required for non-California residents.

Fingerprinting by another agency or your employer is not sufficient to meet the requirement.

There is a one-time processing of your fingerprints in order to maintain a current and active Optometry license in California.
The current processing fee for DOJ and FBI is $49.00. In addition, a print “rolling” fee may be required at the fingerprint site.
The fingerprint requirement will be waived if the license is renewed in an inactive status. However, a request to have an
inactive Optometry license re-activated to “active” status will require fingerprints to be submitted. Fingerprints may be
submitted anytime prior to the renewal date.

There are two methods available for completing the fingerprint requirement. The first method is Live Scan and must be used
for Optometrists residing in California. The second method for Optometrists not residing in California is a manual fingerprint
card (hard card). Instructions for obtaining and completing both methods are found below.

To obtain information regarding the submission of your fingerprints and/or to complete the Live Scan Service form, you may
visit the Board's website at http://www.optometry.ca.gov/fags/fingerprint.shtml.
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