
Cosmetic
contacts
Change the look 
of your eyes 
safely and legally

Report violators

If you are aware of any business or individual 
selling cosmetic contact lenses without a 
license, please report the person or business 
to the California State Board of Optometry. The 
Board will investigate the matter. Fines for sell-
ing contact lenses without a license can range 
from $1,000 to $2,500 per incident.
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Cosmetic contact lenses are a fun way 
to temporarily change your eye color to 
match an outfit or a mood. Cosmetic con-
tacts can give you tiger eyes, bloodshot 
eyes, or other effects to make a Halloween 
costume scarier. 

However, the real scare comes from buying 
cosmetic contacts without a prescription from 
an unlicensed dealer. You could end up with an 
eye infection, scratched cornea, impaired vision 
– or worse.
 
In California, cosmetic contacts, just like con-
tacts to correct your vision, must be prescribed 
by a licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist. 
You must buy your lenses only from licensed 
optometrist or ophthalmologist or from a 
licensed contact lens dispenser.

You may find cosmetic contacts for sale at flea 
markets, beauty salons, or accessory stores, 
but that doesn’t mean the sales are legal. 

Selling cosmetic contact lenses without a 
State license is against the law.  

What are cosmetic contact 
lenses?

Cosmetic contact lenses can be plano (zero-powered) 
lenses, meaning they have no prescriptive power, 
or they can be vision-correction lenses with added 
cosmetic touches. Both kinds are regulated medical 
devices under the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

What if you just want zero-powered cosmetic con-
tacts to wear once or twice? 
You still need an eye exam and a prescription from an 
eye doctor, to be sure the lenses will fit you properly. 
The doctor or his or her assistant will show you how to 
handle and clean the lenses. 

What about online sales?

Out-of-state companies that sell contacts on the 
Internet to California residents also must be licensed. 
These companies must verify your prescription with 
your eye doctor.

How do you know if a 
company or your doctor 
is licensed?

Verify the license

Optometrists are licensed by the Board of
Optometry to conduct eye examinations, treat 
various eye conditions, and prescribe glasses 
and contact lenses.  Optometrists provide the 
majority of Americans’ eye care. Verify an 
optometrist’s license at www.optometry.com.

Ophthalmologists (medical doctors who special-
ize in care and treatment of eyes) are licensed by 
the Medical Board of California. You may verify an 
ophthalmologist’s license at www.mbc.ca.gov.

Registered Dispensing Opticians and/or optical 
shops are authorized to fill contact lens prescrip-
tions and are registered by the Medical Board of 
California.  To verify if someone is an optician, visit 
www.mbc.ca.gov. 
		


