

STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

2450 DEL PASO ROAD, SUITE 105, SACRAMENTO, CA 95834 P (916) 575-7170 Toll-Free (866) 585-2666 www.optometry.ca.gov



CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION

\$100 Mandatory Fee

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR) § section 1536, the Board will approve continuing education (CE) courses after receiving the \$100 USD fee, the requested information below and it has been determined that the course meets criteria specified in CCR § 1536(g). Course approvals shall be valid for two years from the date approved by the Board. A copy of section 1536 is attached for your reference.

In addition to the information requested below, please attach a copy of the course schedule, a topical course outline or presentation materials (e.g., PowerPoint presentation) and course learning objectives. Applications must be submitted 45 days before the course presentation date. **Please type or print clearly**.

Course Title				Course Date(s)	Course Hours
Course Category (Select One)	 □ Patient Care Management □ Ocular and systemic signs or symptoms of related disease □ Child Abuse Detection □ Clinical Optometry 			Ethics in the Practice of Elder Abuse Detection Pharmacology/Schedul Prescribing and Abuse Any categories in the di treatment, and manager disease as set forth in Sof the Business and Pro-	e II Drug Prevention iagnosis, ment of ocular Section 3059(e)
Provider Compa	Applicant/ Course Provider Co	ontact	Inf	formation	

Provider Point of Contact							
e							
Provider Email Address							
S 🗆 NO							
Do you agree to maintain and furnish to the Board and/or attending licensee such records of course content, dates and places of the course, course completion certificates and							
S □ NO							
S 🗆 NO							
S DNO							
S D NO							
S DNO							
In and Out							
In and Out							
hours							
Course Instructor Information Please provide the information below and attach the curriculum vitae for each instructor or lecturer involved in the course.							
If there are more instructors in the course, please provide the requested information on a separate attachment.							
(Middle)							

License Number	License Type ☐ Check this box if the instructor does not have a license				
Phone Number ()	Email Address				
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all the information submitted on this form and on any accompanying attachments submitted is true and correct.					
Signature of Course Provider	Date				

NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION

The information requested on this form is mandatory pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 3059 and Title 16 CCR Section 1536. The information provided will be used to determine compliance with BPC section 3059 and Board's requirements for approval of continuing education courses. The information you may be provided to other governmental agencies, or in response to a court order, subpoena, or public records request. You have a right of access to records containing personal information unless the records are exempted from disclosure by the Information Practices Act, including Civil Code section 1798.40. Individuals may obtain information regarding the location of their records by contacting the Executive Officer of the California State Board of Optometry at 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834, telephone number 916-575-7170.



DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834
P (916) 575-7170 | Toll-Free (866) 585-2666 | www.optometry.ca.gov

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTAL OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATIONS

Thank you for applying to be a continuing education course provider with the California State Board of Optometry (Board). Below are guidelines for applying for continuing education course approval with the Board's Practice and Education Committee (PEC). The PEC meets regularly to approve all applications, and pursuant to the <u>California Code of Regulations (CCR) §1536(f)</u>, applications must be submitted **at least** 45 days before the date of the course. If you have any questions, please contact us at **916-575-7170** or <u>Kristina.eklund@dca.ca.gov.</u>

Before applying, please review the regulations pertaining to continuing education: <u>Title 16</u>, California Code of Regulations §1536.

Please note: If the course you are applying for is already Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE) approved, it is not necessary to apply for Board approval.

Application:

The application must be completed in its entirety.

Please read the application carefully and follow all instructions. The law requires CE courses to be open to all California licensed optometrists.

Course Date(s):

The date or dates the course will be presented, including start and end times.

Course Hours:

The number of credit hours being requested. One hour of CE credit cannot be less than 50 minutes of lecture time.

Provider:

The provider, who may be different from the lecturer/instructor, is the person who submits the material for consideration by the Board. Along with the provider's name, email and mailing addresses and phone number, please include the name of the person serving as the Provider's Point of Contact.

Course Category:

Please select the course category.

Fee Requirement:

The \$100.00 course fee required is per course. Even if you have multiple topics during an event that are not directly tied together, each one is considered a separate course and requires an

application, application fee, and the required supporting documents. If you have multiple topics which you believe are directly tied together, and in your opinion constitute one course, then you must include a written explanation as to how the topics are all directly related.

Processing Time:

Pursuant to CCR §1536(f), applications must be submitted 45 days before the date of the course. Please allow sufficient lead time for processing and decision by the PEC before the course start date. However, if your application will be received by the Board sooner than 45 days before the event, you may include a written explanation as to why the requirement for submission of advance information and request for prior approval should be waived.

Supporting Documentation:

For determination of whether a program is likely to contribute to the advancement of professional skill and knowledge in the practice of optometry, the PEC requests the following documentation for every topic within an event:

- Course schedule
- Topical Course Outline and/or Presentation Materials this should include the breakdown of titles and any subtitles.
- Course Learning Objectives
- CV provided for every lecturer/instructor per course topic

Curriculum Vitae (CV):

For determination that the instructors, lecturers, and others participating in the presentation are recognized as being qualified in their field, it is required that a CV be submitted with every application, for every instructor/lecturer in an event. Even if the Board has received a CV prior for a previous application, a CV must be included in the new submittal because this is a continually changing/updating record.

Do not submit separate applications for each speaker <u>unless</u> the course title has changed with each speaker. Multiple applications are submitted by course topics, not by instructor. For multiple speakers of the <u>same topic</u>, include an instructor list complete with their names and license numbers.

Preparing the application packet for submittal:

The order of the documents should be as follows:

- 1. Continuing Education Course Provider Application with topic title in the "Course Title" field (mandatory)
- 2. The number of hours requested and category of course (mandatory)
- 3. Course Schedule (mandatory)
- 4. Topical Course Outline (mandatory)
- 5. Presentation material (mandatory)
- 6. CV for the instructor of course title (mandatory)

Please be conscientious about submitting the documents in the described order. Preparation of application packets is the responsibility of the provider and not of Board staff. Additionally, it makes the process more efficient if Board staff does not have to try to figure out which

documents, presentation materials, ext. go with which application.

Staff requests that applications with supporting documents be submitted electronically via email in the order explained above. Originals are requested; scanned paper copies do not produce high-quality images. Since there may not be evidence of payment with electronic submittals, you may be asked to provide proof of payment via a copy of the canceled check. This document will not become part of the application file reviewed by the Committee and will remain confidential.

Certificates of Completion:

Certificates of completion may not be distributed to attendees without the course approval number supplied on the certificate itself. Certificates also need to include the course title, course date, and the number of hours of credit.

Home Table of Contents

§ 1536. Continuing Optometric Education; Purpose and Requirements.

16 CA ADC § 1536
Barclays Official California Code of Regulations

Barclays California Code of Regulations
Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations
Division 15. State Board of Optometry (Refs & Annos)
Article 6.5. Continuing Optometric Education

16 CCR § 1536

§ 1536. Continuing Optometric Education; Purpose and Requirements.

Currentness

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in Section 1536(b), each licensee shall complete 40 hours of formal continuing optometric education course work within the two years immediately preceding the license expiration date. Such course work shall be subject to Board approval. Up to eight hours of course work may be in the area of patient care management or ethics in the practice of optometry. Business management courses are not accepted by the Board.
- (b) An optometrist certified to use therapeutic pharmaceutical agents pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 3041.3 shall complete a total of 50 hours of continuing optometric education every two years in order to renew their license. Thirty-five of the required 50 hours of continuing optometric education shall be on the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease and consistent with Business and Professions Code section 3059, subdivision (e).
- (c)(1) Up to 25 hours of required biennial course work may be accomplished by using any or all of the following alternative methods:
 - (A) Documented and accredited self study through correspondence or an electronic medium that is completed by successfully passing a test of the subject matter. The test may include: (1) an interactive test where the licensee submits answers electronically to the educational provider and receives instant feedback on whether the answer chosen by the licensee is correct and why, and whether they have passed the test; or (2) through self-assessment testing (open-book tests that are completed by the licensee, submitted to the provider, graded, and returned to the licensee with correct answers).

For the purposes of this section, "self-study" means a form of learning that does not offer participatory interaction between the licensee and the instructor during the instructional period. This may be accomplished via the following methods:

- 1. Audio or video pre-recorded teleconferences, webinars, seminars, podcasts, broadcasts, or lectures via the internet.
- 2. CD-ROMs played on a computer.
- 3. Digital video discs.
- 4. Books or materials as part of an independent or home study program.
- 5. Programs or applications on a data-enabled device, such as a computer, tablet, or cellular phone specifically designed for this purpose.
- (B) Teaching of continuing optometric education courses if attendance at such course would also qualify for such credit, providing none are duplicate courses within the two-year period.
- (C) Writing articles that have been published in optometric journals, magazines or newspapers, pertaining to the practice of optometry (or in other scientific, learned, refereed journals on topics pertinent to optometry), providing no articles are duplicates. One hour of credit will be granted for each full page of printing or the equivalent thereof.
- (D) A full day's live attendance at a California State Board of Optometry Board meeting as verified by the Board. Every two hours of open session equates to one hour of credit, up to a maximum of four credit hours.
- (E) Completion of a course to receive certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) from the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or other association approved by the Board. Up to four credit hours shall be granted for this course.

- (F) Any continuing education course approved for category 1 of the American Medical Association or category 1A of the American Osteopathic Association Continued Medical Education credits that contributes to the advancement of professional skill and knowledge in the practice of optometry.
- (G) Participation as a subject matter expert in the creation of the Board's California Laws and Regulation Examination. Subject matter experts will receive one hour of continuing education credit for each hour attending a Board sponsored workshop, not to exceed twelve credits per renewal cycle.
- (2) All remaining hours of continuing optometric education shall be obtained through live and interactive course study. For purposes of this section, live and interactive course study is defined as:
 - (A) In-person lectures, in-person workshops, in-person demonstrations, or in-person classroom studies which allow participatory interaction between the licensee and the instructor during the instructional period; or
 - (B) Lectures, webinars, workshops or audio or video conferences delivered via the internet or computer networks in real time, which means online meetings with participatory interaction between the licensee and the instructor presenting the content during the instructional period at the same time.
- (d) A credit hour is defined as one classroom hour, usually a 50-minute period, but no less than that.
- (e) Continuing optometric education programs which are approved as meeting the required standards of the Board include the following:
 - (1) Continuing optometric education courses officially sponsored or recognized by any accredited school or college of optometry. For the purposes of this section, "accredited" means recognition from an accrediting agency recognized by the Secretary of the United States Department of Education.
 - (2) Continuing optometric education courses provided by any national or state affiliate of the American Optometric Association, the American Academy of Optometry, or the Optometric Extension Program.
 - (3) Continuing optometric education courses or activities approved by the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry committee known as COPE (Council on Optometric Practitioner Education).
- (f) Other continuing optometric education courses shall be approved by the Board upon meeting the criteria set forth in paragraph (g) below, and after submission of the fee in Section 1524(*I*), a completed Continuing Education Course Approval Application (Form CE-01, Rev. 8/22), hereby incorporated by reference, course schedule, topical outline of subject matter, and curriculum vitae of all instructors or lecturers involved. Form CE-01 shall be submitted to the Board not less than 45 days prior to the commencement of the program. The Board may, upon application of any licensee and for good cause shown, waive the requirement for submission of advance information and request for prior approval. Nothing herein shall permit the Board to approve a continuing optometric education course which has not complied with the criteria set forth in paragraph (g) below. Course approvals shall be valid for two years from the date as approved by the Board. Each individual course shall be assigned a course approval number by the Board.
- (g) The criteria for judging and approving continuing education courses by the Board for continuing optometric education credit will be determined on the following bases:
 - (1) Whether the program is likely to contribute to the advancement of professional skills and knowledge in the practice of optometry, including the following subject matter areas:
 - (A) Patient care management,
 - (B) Ocular and systemic signs or symptoms of related disease,
 - (C) Child abuse detection,
 - (D) Clinical optometry,
 - (E) Ethics in the practice of optometry,
 - (F) Elder abuse detection,
 - (G) Pharmacology/Schedule II drug prescribing and abuse prevention,
 - (H) Any categories in the diagnosis, treatment, and management of ocular disease as set forth in Section 3059(e) of the Business and Professions Code.
 - (2) Whether the instructors, lecturers, and others participating in the presentation are recognized by the Board as being qualified in their field.
 - (3) Whether the proposed course is open to all optometrists licensed in this State.

- (4) Whether the provider of any mandatory continuing optometric education course agrees to maintain and furnish to the Board and/or attending licensee such records of course content, dates and places of the course, course completion certificates as specified in subdivision (h), and attendance as the Board requires, for a period of at least four years from the date of course presentation.
- (5) The provider does not use the Board's letterhead, seal, or logo on any course certificates, advertising, or solicitation.
- (6) If the proposed course is live and interactive as defined in subsection (d), whether the proposed course has measures for participatory interaction, including participant attendance reports, in-content quizzes, participant polls, real time participant video requirements, and records of participant log in and log out times.
- (h) Proof of continuing optometric education course attendance shall be provided in a form and manner specified in writing by the Board and distributed to all licensed optometrists in this State. Certification of continuing optometric education course attendance shall be submitted by the licensee to the Board upon request, and shall contain the following minimal information:
 - (1) Name of the sponsoring organization.
 - (2) Name, signature, practice address, and license number of the attending licensee.
 - (3) Subject or title of the course.
 - (4) Number of continuing optometric education hours provided for attending the course.
 - (5) Date the course was provided.
 - (6) Location where the course was provided.
 - (7) Name(s) and signature(s) of the course instructor(s).
 - (8) Such other evidence of course content or attendance as the Board may deem necessary.
 - (9) Course approval number as assigned by the Board, if applicable.
 - (10) Whether the course was pre-recorded or live.

A certificate of course completion generated by the continuing optometric education provider is required to be issued to any licensee who completes any continuing optometric education course approved by the Board pursuant to the above.

The Board will also recognize and utilize the Association of Regulatory Boards in Optometry's online Optometric Education (OE) Tracker system as proof of continuing education course attendance.

- (i) The following licensees shall be exempt from the requirements of this section:
 - (1) Any licensee serving in the regular armed forces of the United States during any part of the two years immediately preceding the license expiration date.
 - (2) Any licensee who is renewing an active license for the first time, if they graduated from an accredited school or college of optometry less than one year from the date of initial licensure.
 - (3) Those licensees as the Board, in its discretion, determines were unable to complete sufficient hours of continuing optometric education courses due to illness, incapacity, or other unavoidable circumstances. An extension may be granted if the Board, in its discretion, determines that good cause exists for the licensee's failure to complete the requisite hours of continuing optometric education.
- (j) The Board, in its discretion, may exempt from the continuing optometric education requirements of this section licensees who for health reasons or other good cause cannot meet these requirements. Licensees requesting an exemption shall complete a Continuing Education Exemption Request (Form CE-E, Rev 2/2016) and submit it, along with all required supporting information, to the Board for its consideration at least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of the license.
 - (1) The Board may deny a request for exemption but at its discretion may grant the licensee an extension of up to one year to obtain the necessary continuing optometric education.
 - (2) A licensee whose requests for an exemption is denied and an extension is not granted shall otherwise comply with the provision of this section.
- (k) The Board may conduct an audit of any licensee's attendance of a continuing optometric education course as a means of verifying compliance with this section. A licensee shall maintain all course completion certificates on file which are used for renewal purposes for a period of four (4) years from the license renewal date and shall provide these records to the Board upon request or in the event of an audit, if requested, within ten (10) days of the date of the Board's written request for such records.

- (*I*) Licensees that are glaucoma certified pursuant to BPC section 1571 shall be required to complete 10 hours of glaucoma specific optometric continuing education every license renewal period. These 10 hours shall be part of the required 35 hours on the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular disease.
- (m) A licensee may not repeat for credit the same course more than once within the two-year renewal timeframe.

Credits

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 3059, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 3059, Business and Professions Code.

HISTORY

- 1. New section filed 2-21-89; operative 3-23-89 (Register 89, No. 10).
- 2. Amendment of subsections (a) and (d), new subsection (d)(3), and amendment of subsections (e), (f), (f)(2), (f)(4), (g), (g)(8), (h) (2), (h)(3) and (i), and new subsection (j) and amendment of NOTE filed 5-8-96; operative 6-7-96 (Register 96, No. 19).
- 3. Amendment filed 12-22-2004; operative 1-21-2005 (Register 2004, No. 52).
- 4. Amendment of section and NOTE filed 5-18-2011; operative 6-17-2011 (Register 2011, No. 20).
- 5. Amendment of subsection (c)(4), new subsections (c)(6)-(7), amendment of subsections (f) and (g)(1), repealer of subsection (i) (2), subsection renumbering, new subsection (i)(3)-(j)(2) and (l) and subsection relettering filed 11-9-2016; operative 1-1-2017 (Register 2016, No. 46).
- 6. Amendment filed 8-23-2023; operative 8-23-2023 pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4(b)(3) (Register 2023, No. 34).

This database is current through 9/1/23 Register 2023, No. 35.

Cal. Admin. Code tit. 16, § 1536, 16 CA ADC § 1536

END OF DOCUMENT