
 

 

 
 

 

  

                                                                                                                                 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

       
  

      
 

  
 
 

   
 

 
   

  
 
 

   
 

 
   

    
 

   
   
   
    
   

 
   

 
 

      
 

  
   

   
     

    
  

 
 

   
 

 
     

    
   

 

  

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR. 

STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
2420 DEL PASO ROAD, SUITE 255, SACRAMENTO, CA 95834 
P (916) 575-7170  F (916) 575-7292  www.optometry .ca.gov 

FACT SHEET 
CONTINUING OPTOMETRIC EDUCATION 

All California licensed optometrists are required to take continuing education (CE) and self-certify that 
they met CE requirements upon renewal of their “active” optometric license. The CE requirements for 
optometrists who are certified to prescribe therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) vs. those who are 
not TPA certified are explained below. The self-certification can be accessed online by clicking the link 
below: 

Continuing Education Self Certification (PDF format) 

LICENSED OPTOMETRIST (NON-TPA) 

In order to renew an “active” license, the law requires licensed optometrists who are non-TPA certified 
to complete 40 hours of Board approved CE every two-year renewal period to renew their license to an 
"active" status. 

LICENSED OPTOMETRIST (TPA CERTIFIED) 

In order to renew an “active” license, the law requires licensed optometrists who are TPA certified to 
complete 50 hours of CE, 35 of which must be in the diagnosis, treatment and management of ocular 
disease in any combination of the following areas: 

• glaucoma, ocular infection,
 
• ocular inflammation,
 
• topical steroids, 
• systemic medication, or 
• pain medication. 

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1571 (b), licensed optometrists 

LICENSED OPTOMETRIST (GLAUCOMA (TPG, TLG) CERTIFIED) 

In order to renew an “active” license, the law requires licensed optometrists who are TPG or TLG 
certified to follow the same continuing education requirements as a TPA certified optometrist, with one 
additional requirement. Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR) section 1571 (b), licensed 
optometrists that are glaucoma certified are required to complete 10 hours of glaucoma specific 
continuing education every license renewal period. These 10 hours shall be part of the 35 hours on the 
diagnosis and treatment and management of ocular disease. 

SELF STUDY/CORRESPONDENCE COURSES 

The California State Board of Optometry will accept a maximum of 20 hours of CE earned through the 
completion of acceptable documented and accredited self-study courses. Credit for self study courses 
(i.e., review of written, audio, video material, or a combination) is given at the ratio of one hour of credit 
for one hour of self study earned. 
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APPROVED PROVIDERS 

CE courses which are approved as meeting the required standards of the Board include those 
sponsored or recognized by any accredited US school or college of optometry, any national or state 
affiliate of the American Optometric Association, the American Academy of Optometry, or the 
Optometric Extension Program. Also acceptable are courses approved by the International Association 
of Boards of Examiners in Optometry known as COPE (Council on Optometric Practitioner Education). 

Click here for more information regarding CE requirements for optometrists (link to 
http://www.optometry.ca.gov/lawsregs/laws.pdf (Business and Profession Code (BPC) section 3059 
and CCR section 1536). 

CHILD AND ELDER ABUSE DETECTION 

The Board permits optometrists to earn up to eight hours of Continuing Education (CE) credit in patient 
care management for courses taken in elder and/or child abuse detection. 

These courses aren’t just good for CE credits—they are part of an optometrist’s legal obligation. The 
Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA) designates optometrists—and many other licensed 
professionals—as mandated reporters who must immediately report suspected child abuse or neglect 
to certain local government agencies. 

CANRA requires that any optometrist who has knowledge of or who, in his or her professional capacity 
or within the scope of his or her employment, knows of or observes a child whom he or she knows or 
reasonably suspects has been the victim of child abuse or neglect shall report such suspected incident 
to a designated agency. The report must be made immediately or as soon as practically possible by 
telephone and followed up with a written report within 36 hours of receiving the information. 

Additional information about CANRA is available on the Board’s Web site at 
www.optometry.ca.gov/canra.htm. 

Note to CE providers: There is no change in the process for obtaining approval of CE courses in 
adult and child abuse detection. 
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